Highground Organic Instant Coffee vs Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast

The verdict

Highground Organic Instant Coffee is narrowly ahead, 8.3 to Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast's 8.0. It leads on sourcing transparency.

Who each one suits

Highground Organic Instant Coffee

Freeze-dried organic at supermarket money, hot or iced

Scores higher on sourcing transparency.

Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast

Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop

How they score, criterion by criterion

Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works

CriterionWeightHighground Organic Instant CoffeeStarbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast
Process & Cup Quality30%9.09.0
Convenience & Format20%8.58.5
Sourcing Transparency18%7.35.0
Packaging & Shelf Life16%6.76.7

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Highground Organic Instant CoffeeStarbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast
Best forFreeze-dried organic at supermarket money, hot or icedSomebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop
What sets it apartOrganic and fair-trade certified, freeze-dried, and published as dissolving in cold waterA light roast instant, which almost nothing else in this category is
Bean Type100% Arabica, medium roastArabica, blonde roast
CertificationsFairtrade, Organic—
Dissolves in Cold Water✓✓
Dosing—Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set
Packaging TypeJarTin
Packaging Type NoteThe jar states it is a 30% recycled plastic jar.—
Process MethodFreeze-driedMicroground
Process Method Note—The tin reads INSTANT & MICROGROUND COFFEE.
Roast Level—Light
Roast Level Note—Printed on the tin as STARBUCKS BLONDE ROAST.
Servings per PackMore than 40 per jar35
Tasting Notes—Bright and caramelly
Tasting Notes Note—Starbucks' own words, printed under the product name.

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Highground Organic Instant Coffee
  • +Organic and Fair Trade certified, which only Mount Hagen and Terrasoul also carry here
  • +Freeze dried, 100% Arabica medium roast, more than 40 servings a jar
  • +Highground publishes it for cold water as well as hot
  • −A 3.53oz jar, which is a fraction of the Anthony's 14oz
  • −A jar rather than sticks, so it stays at home
  • −No price and no origin published
Full Highground Organic Instant Coffee review →
Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast
  • +Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set, which no stick format allows
  • +About 35 servings a tin, Arabica blonde roast with published caramel notes
  • +Starbucks publishes it for hot or iced
  • −A 3.17oz tin, so it stays at home
  • −No process method is published: it does not say freeze dried
  • −No certifications, origin or price published
Full Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast review →

Every specification, side by side

Highground Organic Instant CoffeeStarbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast
Who it suits
Best forFreeze-dried organic at supermarket money, hot or icedSomebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop
What sets it apartOrganic and fair-trade certified, freeze-dried, and published as dissolving in cold waterA light roast instant, which almost nothing else in this category is
Specifications
Bean Type100% Arabica, medium roastArabica, blonde roast
CertificationsFairtrade, Organic—
Dissolves in Cold Water✓✓
Dosing—Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set
FlavouredNot flavouredNot flavoured
Packaging TypeJarTin
Packaging Type NoteThe jar states it is a 30% recycled plastic jar.—
Process MethodFreeze-driedMicroground
Process Method Note—The tin reads INSTANT & MICROGROUND COFFEE.
Roast Level—Light
Roast Level Note—Printed on the tin as STARBUCKS BLONDE ROAST.
Servings per PackMore than 40 per jar35
Ships toUSUS
Ships to NoteConfirmed on Amazon US, which is where this link points. Availability in other Amazon stores has not been checked, and a regional store may substitute a different product.Confirmed on Amazon US, which is where this link points. Availability in other Amazon stores has not been checked, and a regional store may substitute a different product.
Tasting Notes—Bright and caramelly
Tasting Notes Note—Starbucks' own words, printed under the product name.

Highground Organic Instant Coffee vs Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast: common questions

Which is better, Highground Organic Instant Coffee or Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast?

Highground Organic Instant Coffee scores 8.3 against 8.0, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion.

Is Highground Organic Instant Coffee or Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast cheaper?

Highground Organic Instant Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast at Not publicly stated.

Who is Highground Organic Instant Coffee for?

Freeze-dried organic at supermarket money, hot or iced

Who is Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast for?

Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop

Keep comparing