Death Wish Coffee vs Intelligentsia Coffee


Death Wish Coffee and Intelligentsia Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Death Wish Coffee | Intelligentsia Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Round Lake, New York, United States | Chicago, Illinois, United States |
| Best for | High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word |
| What sets it apart | Built a brand on caffeine content, and certifies every bag it sells | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it |
| Coffees Reviewed | 4 | 19 |
| Flavoured Line | No, Yes, blueberry | None |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 2 |
| Origin | India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia, Indonesia | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia |
| Price per Kg Range | — | 42.55 to 126.26 |
| Price per kg | — | 42.55 USD |
| Roast Date Printed | — | ✕ |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark |
| Roaster City | Round Lake, New York | Chicago, Illinois |
| Ships to | — | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Nutty, Caramel, Stone fruit, Chocolate, Cocoa, Molasses | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Six origins named across the range: India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia and Indonesia
- +Organic and Fair Trade on the unflavoured blends, with a published caffeine figure at a stated brewing ratio
- +Four coffees reviewed, covering medium and dark plus a flavoured line
- −No roast date is printed on any bag
- −No farm or cooperative is named on any coffee in the range
- −The medium roast publishes no origin at all, where the dark roast names five countries
- +Nineteen coffees reviewed, the deepest range on this site, plus two gift sets
- +Twelve origins named including Brazil, Ethiopia, Kenya, Costa Rica and Guatemala
- +Three roast levels from medium-light to medium-dark, in ground and whole bean, with a subscription
- +A published price per kilo from $42.55, so the range can be compared
- −No roast date is printed, which is unusual for a specialty roaster at this level
- −$42.55 to $126.26 a kilo is a wide spread with little to explain it on the listings
- −Six of its instant and single-origin coffees publish no tasting notes at all
Every specification, side by side
| Death Wish Coffee | Intelligentsia Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Round Lake, New York, United States | Chicago, Illinois, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word |
| What sets it apart | Built a brand on caffeine content, and certifies every bag it sells | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 4 | 19 |
| Flavoured Line | No, Yes, blueberry | None |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 2 |
| Origin | India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia, Indonesia | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia |
| Price per Kg Range | — | 42.55 to 126.26 |
| Price per kg | — | 42.55 USD |
| Roast Date Printed | — | ✕ |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark |
| Roaster City | Round Lake, New York | Chicago, Illinois |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | — | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Nutty, Caramel, Stone fruit, Chocolate, Cocoa, Molasses | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit |
Death Wish Coffee vs Intelligentsia Coffee: common questions
Is Death Wish Coffee or Intelligentsia Coffee cheaper?
Death Wish Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Intelligentsia Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Death Wish Coffee for?
High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified
Who is Intelligentsia Coffee for?
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word











