Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Intelligentsia Coffee


Fresh Roasted Coffee and Intelligentsia Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Fresh Roasted Coffee | Intelligentsia Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Central Pennsylvania, United States | Chicago, Illinois, United States |
| Best for | Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word |
| What sets it apart | — | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it |
| Coffees Reviewed | 9 | 19 |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 2 |
| Origin | Indonesia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Tanzania | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia |
| Price per Kg Range | 26.45 to 35.27 | 42.55 to 126.26 |
| Price per kg | 26.45 USD | 42.55 USD |
| Processing Method | Wet-hulled, Monsooned | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✓ | ✕ |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark |
| Roaster City | Central Pennsylvania | Chicago, Illinois |
| Ships to | US | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Creamy, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Spice, Earthy & woody | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Every order roasted after you place it and shipped one to two days later.
- +The roast date is printed on every bag.
- +Large bags bring single origins under $36 a kilo.
- +The same coffees as K-Cup compatible pods and Nespresso Original capsules.
- −Little origin detail on most coffees: region yes, farm and altitude rarely.
- −The roast date is a Julian day number.
- −Few certifications beyond Kosher outside its organic line.
- +Nineteen coffees reviewed, the deepest range on this site, plus two gift sets
- +Twelve origins named including Brazil, Ethiopia, Kenya, Costa Rica and Guatemala
- +Three roast levels from medium-light to medium-dark, in ground and whole bean, with a subscription
- +A published price per kilo from $42.55, so the range can be compared
- −No roast date is printed, which is unusual for a specialty roaster at this level
- −$42.55 to $126.26 a kilo is a wide spread with little to explain it on the listings
- −Six of its instant and single-origin coffees publish no tasting notes at all
Every specification, side by side
| Fresh Roasted Coffee | Intelligentsia Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Central Pennsylvania, United States | Chicago, Illinois, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word |
| What sets it apart | — | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 9 | 19 |
| Flavoured Line | None | None |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 2 |
| Origin | Indonesia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Tanzania | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia |
| Price per Kg Range | 26.45 to 35.27 | 42.55 to 126.26 |
| Price per kg | 26.45 USD | 42.55 USD |
| Processing Method | Wet-hulled, Monsooned | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✓ | ✕ |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark |
| Roaster City | Central Pennsylvania | Chicago, Illinois |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | US | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Creamy, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Spice, Earthy & woody | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit |
Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Intelligentsia Coffee: common questions
Is Fresh Roasted Coffee or Intelligentsia Coffee cheaper?
Fresh Roasted Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Intelligentsia Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Fresh Roasted Coffee for?
Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
Who is Intelligentsia Coffee for?
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word











