Death Wish Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters


Death Wish Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Death Wish Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Round Lake, New York, United States | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Best for | High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Built a brand on caffeine content, and certifies every bag it sells | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Flavoured Line | ✕ | ✕ |
| Origin | India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia, Indonesia | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roaster City | Round Lake, New York | Portland, Oregon |
| Ships to | — | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Nutty, Caramel, Stone fruit, Chocolate, Cocoa, Molasses | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Six origins named across the range: India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia and Indonesia
- +Organic and Fair Trade on the unflavoured blends, with a published caffeine figure at a stated brewing ratio
- +Four coffees reviewed, covering medium and dark plus a flavoured line
- −No roast date is printed on any bag
- −No farm or cooperative is named on any coffee in the range
- −The medium roast publishes no origin at all, where the dark roast names five countries
- +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
- +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
- +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
- +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
- −Four coffees reviewed
- −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
- −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Every specification, side by side
| Death Wish Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Round Lake, New York, United States | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Built a brand on caffeine content, and certifies every bag it sells | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 4 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | ✕ | ✕ |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 0 |
| Origin | India, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Ethiopia, Indonesia | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Round Lake, New York | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | — | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Nutty, Caramel, Stone fruit, Chocolate, Cocoa, Molasses | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Death Wish Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions
Is Death Wish Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?
Death Wish Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.
Who is Death Wish Coffee for?
High-caffeine arabica and robusta blends, organic and Fair Trade certified
Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it











