Intelligentsia Coffee vs Peet's Coffee


Intelligentsia Coffee and Peet's Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Intelligentsia Coffee | Peet's Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Chicago, Illinois, United States | Emeryville, California, United States |
| Best for | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word | Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks |
| What sets it apart | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it | Alfred Peet's dark roasting style, which is where American speciality coffee started |
| Coffees Reviewed | 19 | 3 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 2 | 0 |
| Origin | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia | Indonesia, Brazil, Guatemala, Ethiopia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Mexico, Kenya, Nicaragua |
| Price per Kg Range | 42.55 to 126.26 | — |
| Price per kg | 42.55 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Chicago, Illinois | Emeryville, California |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. | Ships internationally by USPS only; international subscriptions do not get free shipping. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit | Chocolate, Citrus, Spice, Caramel & toffee, Nutty, Berry |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Nineteen coffees reviewed, the deepest range on this site, plus two gift sets
- +Twelve origins named including Brazil, Ethiopia, Kenya, Costa Rica and Guatemala
- +Three roast levels from medium-light to medium-dark, in ground and whole bean, with a subscription
- +A published price per kilo from $42.55, so the range can be compared
- −No roast date is printed, which is unusual for a specialty roaster at this level
- −$42.55 to $126.26 a kilo is a wide spread with little to explain it on the listings
- −Six of its instant and single-origin coffees publish no tasting notes at all
- +Published grind guidance across methods, fine for espresso through to coarse as sea salt for cold brew
- +100% arabica across the range, in 298g to 510g bags
- +Both ground and whole bean versions of the same blend, so the choice is yours
- −Three coffees reviewed, the smallest range here
- −No certifications: the sourcing claim is that Peet's is actively engaged in driving positive impact, with nothing behind it
- −No origin countries and no roast date published
Every specification, side by side
| Intelligentsia Coffee | Peet's Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Chicago, Illinois, United States | Emeryville, California, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word | Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks |
| What sets it apart | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it | Alfred Peet's dark roasting style, which is where American speciality coffee started |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 19 | 3 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 2 | 0 |
| Origin | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia | Indonesia, Brazil, Guatemala, Ethiopia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Mexico, Kenya, Nicaragua |
| Price per Kg Range | 42.55 to 126.26 | — |
| Price per kg | 42.55 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Chicago, Illinois | Emeryville, California |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. | Ships internationally by USPS only; international subscriptions do not get free shipping. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit | Chocolate, Citrus, Spice, Caramel & toffee, Nutty, Berry |
Intelligentsia Coffee vs Peet's Coffee: common questions
Is Intelligentsia Coffee or Peet's Coffee cheaper?
Intelligentsia Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Peet's Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Intelligentsia Coffee for?
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
Who is Peet's Coffee for?
Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks











