Peet's Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters


Peet's Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Peet's Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Emeryville, California, United States | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Best for | Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Alfred Peet's dark roasting style, which is where American speciality coffee started | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Coffees Reviewed | 3 | 4 |
| Origin | Indonesia, Brazil, Guatemala, Ethiopia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Mexico, Kenya, Nicaragua | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roaster City | Emeryville, California | Portland, Oregon |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally by USPS only; international subscriptions do not get free shipping. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Citrus, Spice, Caramel & toffee, Nutty, Berry | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Published grind guidance across methods, fine for espresso through to coarse as sea salt for cold brew
- +100% arabica across the range, in 298g to 510g bags
- +Both ground and whole bean versions of the same blend, so the choice is yours
- −Three coffees reviewed, the smallest range here
- −No certifications: the sourcing claim is that Peet's is actively engaged in driving positive impact, with nothing behind it
- −No origin countries and no roast date published
- +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
- +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
- +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
- +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
- −Four coffees reviewed
- −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
- −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Every specification, side by side
| Peet's Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Emeryville, California, United States | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Alfred Peet's dark roasting style, which is where American speciality coffee started | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 3 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | ✕ | ✕ |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 0 |
| Origin | Indonesia, Brazil, Guatemala, Ethiopia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Mexico, Kenya, Nicaragua | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Emeryville, California | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally by USPS only; international subscriptions do not get free shipping. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Citrus, Spice, Caramel & toffee, Nutty, Berry | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Peet's Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions
Is Peet's Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?
Peet's Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.
Who is Peet's Coffee for?
Dark roast American coffee from the roaster that taught the founders of Starbucks
Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it











