Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast
AheadStarbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast is narrowly ahead, 8.0 to Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate's 7.8. It leads on convenience & format.
Who each one suits
The organic, fair trade Jot, at the same price as the uncertified one
Scores higher on sourcing transparency.
Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop
Scores higher on convenience & format.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate | Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast |
|---|---|---|---|
| Process & Cup Quality | 30% | 9.0 | 9.0 |
| Convenience & Format | 20% | 6.5 | 8.5 |
| Sourcing Transparency | 18% | 7.7 | 5.0 |
| Packaging & Shelf Life | 16% | 6.7 | 6.7 |
What each one costs
| Price | $26.60 | Not publicly stated |
| Cost per cup The figure that decides what the choice costs over a year, not on the day. | $1.90/cup | Not published |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate | Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $26.60 | — |
| Best for | The organic, fair trade Jot, at the same price as the uncertified one | Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop |
| What sets it apart | — | A light roast instant, which almost nothing else in this category is |
| Bean Type | — | Arabica, blonde roast |
| Certifications | None published | — |
| Decaf in the range | ✕ | — |
| Dissolves in Cold Water | — | ✓ |
| Dose per Serving | 1 tablespoon | — |
| Dosing | — | Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set |
| Format | Liquid concentrate | — |
| Hot or Cold | Both, and it mixes into cold milk without clumping | — |
| Origin | Colombia, Sumatra | — |
| Packaging Type | Glass bottle, 6.8oz | Tin |
| Price per Serving | 1.90 USD | — |
| Process Method | Liquid ultra-concentrate (20x), brewed then concentrated | Microground |
| Process Method Note | — | The tin reads INSTANT & MICROGROUND COFFEE. |
| Roast Level | Dark | Light |
| Roast Level Note | — | Printed on the tin as STARBUCKS BLONDE ROAST. |
| Roaster Named | Jot | — |
| Servings per Pack | 14 | 35 |
| Ships to | — | US |
| Ships to Note | — | Confirmed on Amazon US, which is where this link points. Availability in other Amazon stores has not been checked, and a regional store may substitute a different product. |
| Origin structure | Blend | — |
| Storage | Refrigerate after opening | — |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | — |
| Tasting Notes | Bold, complex, effortlessly smooth | Bright and caramelly |
| Tasting Notes Note | — | Starbucks' own words, printed under the product name. |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +$1.90 a cup, or $1.43 on the subscription, under specialty instant
- +The bolder of Jot's two core blends, for anyone who finds Original too mild
- +Organic Colombian and Sumatran beans, in Jot's own words
- +Stirs into cold milk without clumping, so an iced latte takes seconds
- −Refrigerated once opened
- −About fourteen cups a bottle
- −No certification or certifier shown on the product page
- −No roast date, processing method, producer or tasting notes published
- +Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set, which no stick format allows
- +About 35 servings a tin, Arabica blonde roast with published caramel notes
- +Starbucks publishes it for hot or iced
- −A 3.17oz tin, so it stays at home
- −No process method is published: it does not say freeze dried
- −No certifications, origin or price published
Every specification, side by side
| Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate | Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $26.60 | — |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | The organic, fair trade Jot, at the same price as the uncertified one | Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop |
| What sets it apart | — | A light roast instant, which almost nothing else in this category is |
| Specifications | ||
| Bean Type | — | Arabica, blonde roast |
| Certifications | None published | — |
| Decaf in the range | ✕ | — |
| Dissolves in Cold Water | — | ✓ |
| Dose per Serving | 1 tablespoon | — |
| Dosing | — | Scoopable rather than a fixed sachet, so the strength is yours to set |
| Flavoured | Not flavoured | Not flavoured |
| Format | Liquid concentrate | — |
| Hot or Cold | Both, and it mixes into cold milk without clumping | — |
| Origin | Colombia, Sumatra | — |
| Packaging Type | Glass bottle, 6.8oz | Tin |
| Price per Serving | 1.90 USD | — |
| Process Method | Liquid ultra-concentrate (20x), brewed then concentrated | Microground |
| Process Method Note | — | The tin reads INSTANT & MICROGROUND COFFEE. |
| Roast Level | Dark | Light |
| Roast Level Note | — | Printed on the tin as STARBUCKS BLONDE ROAST. |
| Roaster Named | Jot | — |
| Servings per Pack | 14 | 35 |
| Ships to | — | US |
| Ships to Note | — | Confirmed on Amazon US, which is where this link points. Availability in other Amazon stores has not been checked, and a regional store may substitute a different product. |
| Origin structure | Blend | — |
| Storage | Refrigerate after opening | — |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | — |
| Tasting Notes | Bold, complex, effortlessly smooth | Bright and caramelly |
| Tasting Notes Note | — | Starbucks' own words, printed under the product name. |
Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast: common questions
Which is better, Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate or Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast?
Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast scores 8.0 against 7.8, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate is still ahead on sourcing transparency.
Is Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate or Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast cheaper?
Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate starts at $26.60, and Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast at Not publicly stated. Per cup they work out at $1.90/cup and Not published.
Who is Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate for?
The organic, fair trade Jot, at the same price as the uncertified one
Who is Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast for?
Somebody who drinks Starbucks and wants the same cup without the shop
Keep comparing
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Jot Original Ultra Coffee Concentrate
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Intelligentsia Instant Espresso Black Cat Classic
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Mount Hagen Organic Freeze Dried Instant Coffee
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Cartograph Organic Instant Coffee Packets 50ct
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Waka Colombian Medium Roast Instant Coffee Singles
- Jot Dark Ultra Coffee Concentrate vs Mount Hagen Organic Instant Coffee Sticks 25ct
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Intelligentsia Instant Espresso Black Cat Classic
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Jot Original Ultra Coffee Concentrate
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Kopiko Premium 3 in 1 Instant Coffee Mix 10ct
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Highground Organic Instant Coffee
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Mount Hagen Organic Freeze Dried Instant Coffee
- Starbucks Premium Instant Coffee Blonde Roast vs Anthony's Organic Instant Coffee 14oz












