Atlas Coffee Club vs Trade Coffee
Ahead
Atlas Coffee Club is narrowly ahead, 8.2 to Trade Coffee's 7.9. It leads on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Who each one suits
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them
Scores higher on freshness & roast dates, choice & personalisation.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Atlas Coffee Club | Trade Coffee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 7.8 | 4.7 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 10.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.6 | 7.2 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 8.5 | 8.5 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Atlas Coffee Club | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Bag Size | 340 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 21.99 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 70.94 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | — |
| Roasted to Order | — | ✓ |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | US, CA | US |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +A 30-day money-back guarantee, which is a refund rather than the replacement most of this market offers.
- +The entire plan builder, including the price, is shown before you create an account or hand over an email address.
- +Every coffee is a single origin from a named country, sent with a postcard and tasting notes for that origin.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, which is materially cheaper than Trade's $70.94.
- +Grind is offered for drip, French press, pour over, espresso, AeroPress and cold brew, plus whole bean, and decaf is available.
- −Atlas roasts everything itself, so you are choosing between origins rather than between roasters.
- −The United States and Canada only.
- −The 'Bright and Expressive' flavour profile costs $2 a bag more than the standard one.
- −Frequency is limited to every two weeks or every four, with no longer interval offered.
- −The advertised price is a sale price against a struck-through list price, so what you pay after the first bag needs checking.
- +Cancelling, pausing and rescheduling are all self-service from the dashboard, with no phone call and no email, and a pause keeps your queue intact.
- +Over 450 coffees on the Premium tier from independent roasters, matched by a quiz rather than picked blind from a list.
- +Every bag is roasted to order and shipped by the roaster itself rather than pulled from a warehouse shelf.
- +Grind, frequency, bag count and the next order date can all be changed up to midday the day before an order.
- +The first bag is free on the Discovery Trial, so the range can be tested at the price of the shipping.
- −Shipping is only free if you prepay for three, six or twelve bags, or take the 2lb subscription. Pay-per-shipment plans pay for delivery.
- −At $70.94 a kilo the standard 310g bag is dearer than Atlas Coffee Club's $58.82, and considerably dearer than supermarket specialty.
- −The First Bag Guarantee covers the first match only and is a replacement or a better match, not a refund.
- −United States only. No Canada, no Puerto Rico or other US territories, and no APO/FPO/DPO addresses.
- −Trade publishes a coffee count and not a roaster count, so how many roasters you are actually choosing between is not stated.
Every specification, side by side
| Atlas Coffee Club | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 340 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 21.99 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 70.94 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | — |
| Roasted to Order | — | ✓ |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | US, CA | US |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Standalone curator |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
| Trial Available | ✓ | ✓ |
Atlas Coffee Club vs Trade Coffee: common questions
Which is better, Atlas Coffee Club or Trade Coffee?
Atlas Coffee Club scores 8.2 against 7.9, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Trade Coffee is still ahead on freshness & roast dates.
Is Atlas Coffee Club or Trade Coffee cheaper?
Atlas Coffee Club starts at Not publicly stated, and Trade Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Atlas Coffee Club for?
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Who is Trade Coffee for?
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them











