Stumptown Coffee Club vs Trade Coffee
Ahead
Stumptown Coffee Club is narrowly ahead, 8.3 to Trade Coffee's 7.9. It leads on cost per bag, and per kilo and choice & personalisation.
Who each one suits
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, choice & personalisation, what actually arrives.
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them
Scores higher on freshness & roast dates, delivery & straight answers.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Stumptown Coffee Club | Trade Coffee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 7.8 | 4.7 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 10.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 7.6 | 7.2 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 10.0 | 8.5 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 8.0 | 10.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Stumptown Coffee Club | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Bag Size | 340 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 21.99 USD |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | whole bean or pre-ground | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Money Back Guarantee | — | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 70.94 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat | — |
| Roasted to Order | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness | Yes, roasters roast to the order and ship direct |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | — | US |
| Ships to Note | — | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Standalone curator |
| Subscription URL | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
| Trial Available | — | ✓ |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
- +Cancelling, pausing and rescheduling are all self-service from the dashboard, with no phone call and no email, and a pause keeps your queue intact.
- +Over 450 coffees on the Premium tier from independent roasters, matched by a quiz rather than picked blind from a list.
- +Every bag is roasted to order and shipped by the roaster itself rather than pulled from a warehouse shelf.
- +Grind, frequency, bag count and the next order date can all be changed up to midday the day before an order.
- +The first bag is free on the Discovery Trial, so the range can be tested at the price of the shipping.
- −Shipping is only free if you prepay for three, six or twelve bags, or take the 2lb subscription. Pay-per-shipment plans pay for delivery.
- −At $70.94 a kilo the standard 310g bag is dearer than Atlas Coffee Club's $58.82, and considerably dearer than supermarket specialty.
- −The First Bag Guarantee covers the first match only and is a replacement or a better match, not a refund.
- −United States only. No Canada, no Puerto Rico or other US territories, and no APO/FPO/DPO addresses.
- −Trade publishes a coffee count and not a roaster count, so how many roasters you are actually choosing between is not stated.
Every specification, side by side
| Stumptown Coffee Club | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 340 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 21.99 USD |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | whole bean or pre-ground | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Money Back Guarantee | — | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 70.94 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat | — |
| Roasted to Order | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness | Yes, roasters roast to the order and ship direct |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | — | US |
| Ships to Note | — | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Standalone curator |
| Subscription URL | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
| Trial Available | — | ✓ |
Stumptown Coffee Club vs Trade Coffee: common questions
Which is better, Stumptown Coffee Club or Trade Coffee?
Stumptown Coffee Club scores 8.3 against 7.9, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Trade Coffee is still ahead on freshness & roast dates.
Is Stumptown Coffee Club or Trade Coffee cheaper?
Stumptown Coffee Club starts at Not publicly stated, and Trade Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Who is Trade Coffee for?
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them











