Atlas Coffee Club vs Origin Coffee Subscription

AheadOrigin Coffee Subscription is narrowly ahead, 8.4 to Atlas Coffee Club's 8.2. It leads on freshness & roast dates and what actually arrives.
Who each one suits
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, choice & personalisation.
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag
Scores higher on freshness & roast dates, what actually arrives.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Atlas Coffee Club | Origin Coffee Subscription |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 7.8 | 6.5 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 10.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.6 | 6.3 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 8.5 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | $16 |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Atlas Coffee Club | Origin Coffee Subscription | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | — | $16 |
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag |
| Bag Price Usd Converted | — | 17.00 |
| Bag Size | 340 g | 250 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | — | B Corp |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | — |
| Days Roast to Despatch | — | 1 |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | — |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | — | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | — |
| Price Source Currency | — | GBP |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | — |
| Roasted to Order | — | ✓ |
| Roaster Country | United States | United Kingdom |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | US, CA | UK, EU, US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions |
| Trial Available | ✓ | — |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +A 30-day money-back guarantee, which is a refund rather than the replacement most of this market offers.
- +The entire plan builder, including the price, is shown before you create an account or hand over an email address.
- +Every coffee is a single origin from a named country, sent with a postcard and tasting notes for that origin.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, which is materially cheaper than Trade's $70.94.
- +Grind is offered for drip, French press, pour over, espresso, AeroPress and cold brew, plus whole bean, and decaf is available.
- −Atlas roasts everything itself, so you are choosing between origins rather than between roasters.
- −The United States and Canada only.
- −The 'Bright and Expressive' flavour profile costs $2 a bag more than the standard one.
- −Frequency is limited to every two weeks or every four, with no longer interval offered.
- −The advertised price is a sale price against a struck-through list price, so what you pay after the first bag needs checking.
- +Next-day despatch on daily fresh roasts, which is the tightest published roast-to-post window in this batch.
- +Free delivery on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum to earn it.
- +The bag is sized to fit through a letterbox, so a delivery does not need somebody at home.
- +A certified B Corp, with the sourcing commitments that certification requires, rather than a self-declared claim.
- +Ships to the UK, EU, US and worldwide, which is the widest reach in this batch.
- −Pausing, skipping and cancelling are done through their iOS and Android app, and no web equivalent is stated.
- −Priced in pounds. Our dollar figure is a converted estimate and is deliberately not scored, so the value criterion sits at the midpoint.
- −One roaster only, so there is no discovery of other roasters.
- −The free-delivery threshold is advertised at both £25 and £35 in different places on the site, which needs clarifying at the basket.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
Every specification, side by side
| Atlas Coffee Club | Origin Coffee Subscription | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | — | $16 |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Price Usd Converted | — | 17.00 |
| Bag Size | 340 g | 250 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | — | B Corp |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | — |
| Days Roast to Despatch | — | 1 |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | — |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | — | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | — |
| Price Source Currency | — | GBP |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | — |
| Roasted to Order | — | ✓ |
| Roaster Country | United States | United Kingdom |
| Roasters | 1 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | US, CA | UK, EU, US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions |
| Trial Available | ✓ | — |
Atlas Coffee Club vs Origin Coffee Subscription: common questions
Which is better, Atlas Coffee Club or Origin Coffee Subscription?
Origin Coffee Subscription scores 8.4 against 8.2, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Atlas Coffee Club is still ahead on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Is Atlas Coffee Club or Origin Coffee Subscription cheaper?
Atlas Coffee Club starts at Not publicly stated, and Origin Coffee Subscription at $16.
Who is Atlas Coffee Club for?
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Who is Origin Coffee Subscription for?
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag











