Atlas Coffee Club vs Stumptown Coffee Club

AheadStumptown Coffee Club is narrowly ahead, 8.3 to Atlas Coffee Club's 8.2. It leads on choice & personalisation and what actually arrives.
Who each one suits
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Scores higher on delivery & straight answers.
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on choice & personalisation, what actually arrives.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Atlas Coffee Club | Stumptown Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 7.8 | 7.8 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.6 | 7.6 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 5.0 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 8.5 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 10.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Atlas Coffee Club | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | — |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | US, CA | — |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
| Trial Available | ✓ | — |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +A 30-day money-back guarantee, which is a refund rather than the replacement most of this market offers.
- +The entire plan builder, including the price, is shown before you create an account or hand over an email address.
- +Every coffee is a single origin from a named country, sent with a postcard and tasting notes for that origin.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, which is materially cheaper than Trade's $70.94.
- +Grind is offered for drip, French press, pour over, espresso, AeroPress and cold brew, plus whole bean, and decaf is available.
- −Atlas roasts everything itself, so you are choosing between origins rather than between roasters.
- −The United States and Canada only.
- −The 'Bright and Expressive' flavour profile costs $2 a bag more than the standard one.
- −Frequency is limited to every two weeks or every four, with no longer interval offered.
- −The advertised price is a sale price against a struck-through list price, so what you pay after the first bag needs checking.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
Every specification, side by side
| Atlas Coffee Club | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 340 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 20.00 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 2 weeks or every 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole bean, French press, Pour over, Espresso, AeroPress or cold brew | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Money Back Guarantee | ✓ | — |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Light to medium, medium to dark, or all roasts | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | US, CA | — |
| Ships to Note | United States and Canada only | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://atlascoffeeclub.com/collections/coffee-subscription-service | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
| Trial Available | ✓ | — |
Atlas Coffee Club vs Stumptown Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Atlas Coffee Club or Stumptown Coffee Club?
Stumptown Coffee Club scores 8.3 against 8.2, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Atlas Coffee Club is still ahead on delivery & straight answers.
Is Atlas Coffee Club or Stumptown Coffee Club cheaper?
Atlas Coffee Club starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Atlas Coffee Club for?
Drinking a different country every delivery, with the plan set out before you sign up
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks











