Equator Coffees vs Fresh Roasted Coffee

The verdict

Equator Coffees and Fresh Roasted Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Equator Coffees

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Fresh Roasted Coffee

Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Equator CoffeesFresh Roasted Coffee
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesCentral Pennsylvania, United States
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendSomebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
B Corp✓—
Coffees Reviewed411
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaIndonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, Tanzania
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.8624.25 to 35.27
Price per kg43.54 USD24.25 USD
Processing Method—Wet-hulled, Monsooned, Washed
Roast Date Printed—✓
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkLight, Medium, Medium-dark
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaCentral Pennsylvania
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, Spice

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Equator Coffees
  • +Names the producer, varieties, altitude and process of every blend component.
  • +B Corp certified, and its decafs are all water processed.
  • +Every coffee in 12 oz, 2 lb and 5 lb bags, whole bean or ground.
  • +Free shipping on orders of $50 or more.
  • −No roast date published on the bag.
  • −Specialty prices: around $54 to $57 a kilo in the 12 oz bag.
  • −Few certified organic or Fair Trade coffees outside its dedicated line.
Full Equator Coffees review →
Fresh Roasted Coffee
  • +Every order roasted after you place it and shipped one to two days later.
  • +The roast date is printed on every bag.
  • +Large bags bring single origins under $36 a kilo.
  • +The same coffees as K-Cup compatible pods and Nespresso Original capsules.
  • −Little origin detail on most coffees: region yes, farm and altitude rarely.
  • −The roast date is a Julian day number.
  • −Few certifications beyond Kosher outside its organic line.
Full Fresh Roasted Coffee review →

Every specification, side by side

Equator CoffeesFresh Roasted Coffee
The maker
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesCentral Pennsylvania, United States
Who it suits
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendSomebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
Specifications
B Corp✓—
Coffees Reviewed411
Flavoured LineNoneNone
Gift Sets Reviewed00
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaIndonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, Tanzania
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.8624.25 to 35.27
Price per kg43.54 USD24.25 USD
Processing Method—Wet-hulled, Monsooned, Washed
Roast Date Printed—✓
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkLight, Medium, Medium-dark
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaCentral Pennsylvania
Roaster CountryUnited StatesUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUSUS
Ships toUSUS
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, Spice

Equator Coffees vs Fresh Roasted Coffee: common questions

Is Equator Coffees or Fresh Roasted Coffee cheaper?

Equator Coffees starts at Not publicly stated, and Fresh Roasted Coffee at Not publicly stated.

Who is Equator Coffees for?

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Who is Fresh Roasted Coffee for?

Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices

Keep comparing