Equator Coffees vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters

The verdict

Equator Coffees and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Equator Coffees

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Stumptown Coffee Roasters

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Equator CoffeesStumptown Coffee Roasters
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
B Corp✓—
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.86—
Price per kg43.54 USD—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkMedium, Dark
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaPortland, Oregon
Ships toUSUS, CA, UK
Ships to Note—Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Equator Coffees
  • +Names the producer, varieties, altitude and process of every blend component.
  • +B Corp certified, and its decafs are all water processed.
  • +Every coffee in 12 oz, 2 lb and 5 lb bags, whole bean or ground.
  • +Free shipping on orders of $50 or more.
  • −No roast date published on the bag.
  • −Specialty prices: around $54 to $57 a kilo in the 12 oz bag.
  • −Few certified organic or Fair Trade coffees outside its dedicated line.
Full Equator Coffees review →
Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
  • +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
  • +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
  • +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
  • −Four coffees reviewed
  • −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
  • −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Full Stumptown Coffee Roasters review →

Every specification, side by side

Equator CoffeesStumptown Coffee Roasters
The maker
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Who it suits
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Specifications
B Corp✓—
Coffees Reviewed44
Flavoured LineNoneNone
Gift Sets Reviewed00
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.86—
Price per kg43.54 USD—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkMedium, Dark
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaPortland, Oregon
Roaster CountryUnited StatesUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUSUS
Ships toUSUS, CA, UK
Ships to Note—Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Equator Coffees vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions

Is Equator Coffees or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?

Equator Coffees starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.

Who is Equator Coffees for?

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

Keep comparing