Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters

The verdict

Fresh Roasted Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Fresh Roasted Coffee

Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices

Stumptown Coffee Roasters

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Fresh Roasted CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
Based inCentral Pennsylvania, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Best forSomebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent pricesAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Coffees Reviewed114
OriginIndonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, TanzaniaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range24.25 to 35.27—
Price per kg24.25 USD—
Processing MethodWet-hulled, Monsooned, WashedWashed
Roast Date Printed✓—
Roast LevelsLight, Medium, Medium-darkMedium, Dark
Roaster CityCentral PennsylvaniaPortland, Oregon
Ships toUSUS, CA, UK
Ships to Note—Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, SpiceChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Fresh Roasted Coffee
  • +Every order roasted after you place it and shipped one to two days later.
  • +The roast date is printed on every bag.
  • +Large bags bring single origins under $36 a kilo.
  • +The same coffees as K-Cup compatible pods and Nespresso Original capsules.
  • −Little origin detail on most coffees: region yes, farm and altitude rarely.
  • −The roast date is a Julian day number.
  • −Few certifications beyond Kosher outside its organic line.
Full Fresh Roasted Coffee review →
Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
  • +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
  • +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
  • +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
  • −Four coffees reviewed
  • −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
  • −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Full Stumptown Coffee Roasters review →

Every specification, side by side

Fresh Roasted CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
The maker
Based inCentral Pennsylvania, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Who it suits
Best forSomebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent pricesAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Specifications
Coffees Reviewed114
Flavoured LineNoneNone
Gift Sets Reviewed00
OriginIndonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, TanzaniaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range24.25 to 35.27—
Price per kg24.25 USD—
Processing MethodWet-hulled, Monsooned, WashedWashed
Roast Date Printed✓—
Roast LevelsLight, Medium, Medium-darkMedium, Dark
Roaster CityCentral PennsylvaniaPortland, Oregon
Roaster CountryUnited StatesUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUSUS
Ships toUSUS, CA, UK
Ships to Note—Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, SpiceChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions

Is Fresh Roasted Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?

Fresh Roasted Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.

Who is Fresh Roasted Coffee for?

Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices

Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

Keep comparing