Intelligentsia Coffee vs Kicking Horse Coffee


Intelligentsia Coffee and Kicking Horse Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Intelligentsia Coffee | Kicking Horse Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Chicago, Illinois, United States | Invermere, British Columbia, Canada |
| Best for | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word | Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge |
| What sets it apart | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it | Every bag carries three certifications and a published tasting note, which almost nothing at this price does |
| Coffees Reviewed | 19 | 5 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Origin | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia | — |
| Price per Kg Range | 42.55 to 126.26 | — |
| Price per kg | 42.55 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Chicago, Illinois | Invermere, British Columbia |
| Roaster Country | United States | Canada |
| Roaster Country Code | US | CA |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | US, CA |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. | US and Canada only; free shipping excludes Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit | Chocolate, Nutty, Earthy & woody, Caramel & toffee, Spice, Smoky |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Nineteen coffees reviewed, the deepest range on this site, plus two gift sets
- +Twelve origins named including Brazil, Ethiopia, Kenya, Costa Rica and Guatemala
- +Three roast levels from medium-light to medium-dark, in ground and whole bean, with a subscription
- +A published price per kilo from $42.55, so the range can be compared
- −No roast date is printed, which is unusual for a specialty roaster at this level
- −$42.55 to $126.26 a kilo is a wide spread with little to explain it on the listings
- −Six of its instant and single-origin coffees publish no tasting notes at all
- +Certified Organic, Fairtrade and Kosher across the range, which is three certifications where most roasters carry one
- +Green coffee only: no preservatives, additives, fillers or flavourings, stated for every coffee
- +Five coffees and two gift sets, roasted in a facility the maker says makes only coffee
- +Detailed published notes and a separate aroma description on every bag
- −No origin countries are published for any coffee in the range
- −No roast date is printed
- −283g bags throughout, among the smallest here
Every specification, side by side
| Intelligentsia Coffee | Kicking Horse Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Chicago, Illinois, United States | Invermere, British Columbia, Canada |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word | Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge |
| What sets it apart | One of the American roasters that invented direct trade, with the paperwork to show for it | Every bag carries three certifications and a published tasting note, which almost nothing at this price does |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 19 | 5 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 2 | 2 |
| Origin | Brazil, Mexico, Ethiopia, Honduras, Costa Rica, Kenya, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Colombia | — |
| Price per Kg Range | 42.55 to 126.26 | — |
| Price per kg | 42.55 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Chicago, Illinois | Invermere, British Columbia |
| Roaster Country | United States | Canada |
| Roaster Country Code | US | CA |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | US, CA |
| Ships to Note | Ships internationally as well as within the US. The roaster does not publish a country list, and import duties fall to the buyer. | US and Canada only; free shipping excludes Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Caramel & toffee, Chocolate, Stone fruit | Chocolate, Nutty, Earthy & woody, Caramel & toffee, Spice, Smoky |
Intelligentsia Coffee vs Kicking Horse Coffee: common questions
Is Intelligentsia Coffee or Kicking Horse Coffee cheaper?
Intelligentsia Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Kicking Horse Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Intelligentsia Coffee for?
Drinkers who want a named farm, a published process and a roaster that has been doing direct trade since before it was a marketing word
Who is Kicking Horse Coffee for?
Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge











