Kicking Horse Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters


Kicking Horse Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Kicking Horse Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Invermere, British Columbia, Canada | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Best for | Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Every bag carries three certifications and a published tasting note, which almost nothing at this price does | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Coffees Reviewed | 5 | 4 |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 2 | 0 |
| Origin | — | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roaster City | Invermere, British Columbia | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | Canada | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | CA | US |
| Ships to | US, CA | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | US and Canada only; free shipping excludes Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Nutty, Earthy & woody, Caramel & toffee, Spice, Smoky | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Certified Organic, Fairtrade and Kosher across the range, which is three certifications where most roasters carry one
- +Green coffee only: no preservatives, additives, fillers or flavourings, stated for every coffee
- +Five coffees and two gift sets, roasted in a facility the maker says makes only coffee
- +Detailed published notes and a separate aroma description on every bag
- −No origin countries are published for any coffee in the range
- −No roast date is printed
- −283g bags throughout, among the smallest here
- +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
- +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
- +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
- +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
- −Four coffees reviewed
- −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
- −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Every specification, side by side
| Kicking Horse Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Invermere, British Columbia, Canada | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Every bag carries three certifications and a published tasting note, which almost nothing at this price does | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 5 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | ✕ | ✕ |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 2 | 0 |
| Origin | — | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | — | Washed |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Invermere, British Columbia | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | Canada | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | CA | US |
| Ships to | US, CA | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | US and Canada only; free shipping excludes Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Nutty, Earthy & woody, Caramel & toffee, Spice, Smoky | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Kicking Horse Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions
Is Kicking Horse Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?
Kicking Horse Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.
Who is Kicking Horse Coffee for?
Certified organic and fairtrade coffee at a price supermarket blends charge
Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it











