Black Rifle Coffee Club Coffee Subscription Review

Building a box of one roaster's coffee in ground, whole bean or K-Cup, shipped free

The Black Rifle Coffee Club is the company's own subscription: you pick roasts from their range, choose a format and an interval, and the box ships free. A 12oz bag is $16.99, which works out at $49.97 a kilo, and deliveries can be set to every 14, 21, 30 or 60 days.

Spec-led review. Built from the manufacturer’s published specification and price rather than hands-on testing. Figures we could not find stated are left blank instead of estimated. Updated when we get one in.

Our rating
7.0/ 10
Very good
6 of 6 scored, out of 84.6 points · 15.4 not judgeable from specs

How we rate coffee subscriptions — what each criterion measures, and what we cannot.

Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out7.8 / 10
worth 19.2 of 84.6 · 4.8 unpublished · partly evidenced
how we got 7.8

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 56% published.
Cancel onlineYes, cancel anytime with no commitments3.0 / 3.0
Skip a deliverynot in our data1.0 / 2.0
Pausenot in our data0.75 / 1.5
Notice requirednot applicable
Minimum commitment11.5 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 8.0 between them and this one took 6.25, which is 7.8 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 19.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 3.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 1.75 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo7.0 / 10
worth 22 of 84.6 · well evidenced
how we got 7.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 85% published.
Cost per bag16.99 USD2.4 / 4.0
Cost per kilo49.97 USD2.4 / 3.0
Shipping includedYes, free shipping on every club order1.5 / 1.5
First box discountnot in our data0.75 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 7.05, which is 7.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 22 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 1.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 0.75 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Freshness & Roast Dates (roasted to order only)5.0 / 10
worth 7.2 of 84.6 · 8.8 unpublished · thinly evidenced
how we got 5.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 0% published.
Roasted to ordernot in our data2.25 / 4.5
Roast to despatchnot applicable
Roast date printednot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 4.5 between them and this one took 2.25, which is 5.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 7.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Choice & Personalisation6.6 / 10
worth 16 of 84.6 · well evidenced
how we got 6.6

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 80% published.
Roasters offered10.6 / 3.0
Grind choiceGround, whole bean or K-Cups2.5 / 2.5
Roast choiceLight, medium or dark roast2.5 / 2.5
Matched to tastenot in our data1.0 / 2.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 6.6, which is 6.6 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 16 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 2.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 1.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

What Actually Arrives6.5 / 10
worth 10.2 of 84.6 · 1.8 unpublished · thinly evidenced
how we got 6.5

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from specs that predict this rather than measure it. 29% published.
Specialty gradenot in our data1.75 / 3.5
Single origin offerednot in our data1.25 / 2.5
Roasters namedYes, Black Rifle roasts everything it sends2.5 / 2.5
Direct tradenot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 8.5 between them and this one took 5.5, which is 6.5 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 6.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 3.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Delivery & Straight Answers8.0 / 10
worth 10 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 8.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 60% published.
Where it shipsnot in our data2.0 / 4.0
Frequency optionsEvery 14, 21, 30 or 60 days3.0 / 3.0
Price shown upfrontYes, each coffee is priced on its own page3.0 / 3.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 8.0, which is 8.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

The verdict

Black Rifle's club is a build-your-own box from one roaster and it is priced well: $16.99 for a 12oz bag is $49.97 a kilo, with shipping free on every club order against a $75 threshold elsewhere. Four delivery intervals, three roast levels and three formats including K-Cups. What it does not publish is anything at all about when the coffee is roasted.

Pros

  • Free shipping on every club order, against a $75 threshold on ordinary orders.
  • $49.97 a kilo, which undercuts every curator in this comparison and most roasters' own plans.
  • Three formats of the same coffee - ground, whole bean or K-Cups - which no other subscription here offers.
  • Four delivery intervals from 14 to 60 days, so a slow drinker is not forced onto a monthly box.
  • Cancel anytime with no commitments, stated on the club page itself rather than in a help centre.

Cons

  • Nothing is published about when the coffee is roasted, so the freshness criterion scores on an absence.
  • One roaster, so there is no discovery beyond Black Rifle's own range.
  • No money-back guarantee is stated.
  • The discounts reward buying more bags at once rather than lowering the standing price.
  • No decaf or single-origin plan is offered as a subscription in its own right.

What is the Black Rifle Coffee Club?

A build-your-own box from one roaster. You pick the roasts, the format and the interval, and it arrives without a shipping charge.

The club sends Black Rifle's own coffee rather than a curation of anybody else's. Roasts are filtered by light, medium and dark, and each one can be taken as ground, whole bean or K-Cups, which is a wider format choice than any other subscription in this comparison offers. Buying more than one bag at a time discounts the box: 5% on two, 10% on three, 15% on four or more.

Membership also carries things that are not coffee - instant Gold loyalty status and member-only discounts - and the company states that purchases contribute to veterans and first responders.

What you get, and what it costs

$16.99 for a 12oz bag is $49.97 a kilo, and shipping is free on every club order.

That per-kilo figure is the thing to notice. It undercuts every curator here - Trade at $70.94, Misto from $20 a bag with no weight given - and sits below Stumptown and Atlas at $58.82. Only Peet's, at $43.98, is cheaper.

Free shipping matters more here than the phrase usually does, because Black Rifle's ordinary threshold is $75. A club order steps around it whatever the size, so a single 12oz bag every 60 days ships for nothing.

A 5lb size is offered alongside the 12oz for anyone getting through more.

How fresh is the coffee?

Not stated. The club page describes what you get and never says when it was roasted.

There is no roasted-to-order claim, no roast-to-despatch figure, and no statement about a roast date on the bag. Trade, Misto, Intelligentsia and Driftaway all commit to something here, and Origin publishes next-day despatch. Black Rifle publishes nothing, so this criterion scores on an absence rather than on evidence.

That is a statement about the page rather than about the coffee. It is also the main reason a well-priced subscription does not score higher.

Can you cancel it?

Yes. "Cancel anytime, no commitments" is one of five things listed at the top of the club page.

Black Rifle puts the exit in its own bullet rather than in a help centre, alongside free shipping and the ability to change flavours and delivery frequency whenever you like. No minimum number of deliveries is stated and no notice period is required.

The frequency choice is the useful part in daily use: 14, 21, 30 or 60 days. Sixty is unusually long, suits somebody who buys the 5lb size or drinks slowly, and removes the main reason people end up skipping deliveries at all.

What is not offered is a money-back guarantee. Atlas gives thirty days and a refund; here you can leave, which is not the same thing.

Black Rifle vs Peet's

The two cheapest coffees in this comparison, cheap in different ways.

Peet's is $43.98 a kilo and prices by the pound, so the figure needs no arithmetic at all. Black Rifle is $49.97 a kilo on a 12oz bag. Both include shipping on subscriptions and both let you leave without notice.

Peet's offers more structure - eight curated series including a dedicated decaf and a cold brew - and Black Rifle offers more format flexibility, since the same coffee comes as ground, whole bean or K-Cups. If you own a Keurig, that matters more than the six dollars a kilo between them.

Neither publishes a roasting claim, so on freshness they are level, and both score lower for it than services charging half as much again.

Is the Black Rifle Coffee Club worth it?

Worth it on price and format. Not the one to buy if roast date is what you care about.

Fifty dollars a kilo with delivery included, from a roaster whose range you already know you like, in whatever grind your machine takes, is a good deal by the numbers. The 60-day interval makes it workable for a household that gets through one bag a month rather than four.

The reservation is the silence on freshness. Paying $70 a kilo at Trade buys a coffee roasted after you ordered it; paying $50 here buys a coffee about which no such claim is made. Which is better value depends entirely on whether you can taste the difference.

Who should subscribe (and who should not)

Subscribe if you already drink it and want it cheaper. Do not subscribe to discover anything.

Good fit: an existing Black Rifle drinker paying the $75 shipping threshold at retail; a K-Cup household, since this is the only subscription here that will send pods of the same coffee; anyone who wants a delivery every two months rather than every month.

Poor fit: anyone buying on freshness, which is not documented. Anyone wanting independent roasters, who should look at Misto or Trade. And anyone who wants a decaf-specific plan, which Peet's offers and this does not.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is the Black Rifle Coffee Club?

Coffee is priced per bag rather than as a club fee. A 12oz bag such as Silencer Smooth Roast is $16.99, which is $49.97 a kilo, and a 5lb size is offered as well. Two bags save 5%, three save 10%, four or more save 15%.

Is shipping free with the Black Rifle Coffee Club?

Yes, on every club order, with no minimum. Black Rifle's ordinary free shipping threshold is $75, which a club order steps around.

Can I get K-Cups on the Black Rifle subscription?

Yes. Each coffee is offered as ground, whole bean or K-Cups, which makes this the only subscription in our comparison that will send pods of the same coffee.

How often does the Black Rifle Coffee Club deliver?

Every 14, 21, 30 or 60 days. The 60-day option is the longest interval of any subscription we have reviewed apart from Stumptown's eight weeks.

Can I cancel the Black Rifle Coffee Club at any time?

Yes. The club page states cancel anytime with no commitments, and gives no minimum number of deliveries and no notice period.

Is Black Rifle coffee roasted to order?

Not stated. The club page makes no claim about when the coffee is roasted and gives no roast-to-despatch figure, so we have not scored it.

Who roasts this

Black Rifle CoffeeWhere they are based, how they ship, and the 17 of their coffees we have reviewed, ranked.
Black Rifle Coffee Club is featured in

Alternatives to Black Rifle Coffee Club

See all Black Rifle Coffee Club alternatives →

Other Coffee Subscriptions options we've reviewed.