Volcanica Coffee Club Coffee Subscription Review

A flat monthly rate for three or six coffees, with shipping and oat milk included

The Volcanica Coffee Club is a flat-rate monthly box from an Atlanta roaster specialising in coffees from volcanic regions. You pick three coffees for $38 or six for $75 from a rotating twenty, shipping is included on every box, and every order comes with oat milk.

Spec-led review. Built from the manufacturer’s published specification and price rather than hands-on testing. Figures we could not find stated are left blank instead of estimated. Updated when we get one in.

Our rating
6.5/ 10
Decent
6 of 6 scored, out of 84.6 points · 15.4 not judgeable from specs

How we rate coffee subscriptions — what each criterion measures, and what we cannot.

Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out5.0 / 10
worth 19.2 of 84.6 · 4.8 unpublished · thinly evidenced
how we got 5.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 0% published.
Cancel onlinenot in our data1.5 / 3.0
Skip a deliverynot in our data1.0 / 2.0
Pausenot in our data0.75 / 1.5
Notice requirednot applicable
Minimum commitmentnot in our data0.75 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 8.0 between them and this one took 4.0, which is 5.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 19.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 8.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 4.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo7.7 / 10
worth 22 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 7.7

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 70% published.
Cost per bag12.67 USD3.2 / 4.0
Cost per kilonot in our data1.5 / 3.0
Shipping includedYes, free shipping on every box1.5 / 1.5
First box discountYes, 20% off the first subscription order1.5 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 7.7, which is 7.7 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 22 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 3.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 1.5 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Freshness & Roast Dates (roasted to order only)5.0 / 10
worth 7.2 of 84.6 · 8.8 unpublished · thinly evidenced
how we got 5.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 0% published.
Roasted to ordernot in our data2.25 / 4.5
Roast to despatchnot applicable
Roast date printednot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 4.5 between them and this one took 2.25, which is 5.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 7.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Choice & Personalisation5.3 / 10
worth 16 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 5.3

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 55% published.
Roasters offered10.6 / 3.0
Grind choicenot in our data1.25 / 2.5
Roast choiceTwenty coffees to choose from, mixed and matched per box2.5 / 2.5
Matched to tastenot in our data1.0 / 2.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 5.35, which is 5.3 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 16 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

What Actually Arrives8.5 / 10
worth 10.2 of 84.6 · 1.8 unpublished · partly evidenced
how we got 8.5

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from specs that predict this rather than measure it. 71% published.
Specialty gradeYes, specialty coffee from volcanic regions3.5 / 3.5
Single origin offerednot in our data1.25 / 2.5
Roasters namedYes, Volcanica roasts everything in Atlanta2.5 / 2.5
Direct tradenot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 8.5 between them and this one took 7.25, which is 8.5 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 2.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 1.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Delivery & Straight Answers8.0 / 10
worth 10 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 8.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 60% published.
Where it shipsnot in our data2.0 / 4.0
Frequency optionsMonthly, delivered on your schedule3.0 / 3.0
Price shown upfrontYes, $38 for a 3-count box and $75 for a 6-count box3.0 / 3.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 8.0, which is 8.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

The verdict

Volcanica sells a flat-rate box rather than a per-bag subscription: $38 for three coffees or $75 for six, chosen from twenty, with free shipping and free oat milk. At $12.67 a coffee it is the cheapest per bag in this comparison. The gap is the exit - the Coffee Club page says nothing about cancelling, which is the thing this site weights most heavily.

Pros

  • $12.67 a coffee on the three-count box, the cheapest per bag of any subscription we have reviewed.
  • Free shipping on every box, against a $60 threshold or a $6.95 flat rate on ordinary orders.
  • Twenty coffees to mix and match each month, which is more choice within one roaster than anyone else here offers.
  • 20% off the first subscription order.
  • Oat milk included with every order, which no other subscription in this comparison does.

Cons

  • Nothing about cancelling, pausing or skipping appears on the Coffee Club page, and that is the criterion this category weights heaviest.
  • No bag weight is published, so $12.67 a coffee cannot be turned into a price per kilo.
  • Nothing is published about when the coffee is roasted.
  • One roaster, so the twenty coffees are all Volcanica's own.
  • A flat rate means a cheap coffee and an expensive one cost you the same, which suits the roaster more than the buyer.

What is the Volcanica Coffee Club?

A flat-rate box rather than a per-bag subscription. One price, three or six coffees of your choosing, shipping and oat milk included.

Volcanica's own comparison is Netflix, and it is a fair one: you pay a set monthly amount and choose from a library rather than buying items one at a time. The library is twenty coffees, drawn from the volcanic-region specialities the Atlanta roaster is built around, and you mix and match each month.

Two sizes of box are offered: three coffees for $38, or six for $75. Free oat milk comes with every order, which is a genuinely unusual inclusion and the kind of thing that either delights you or is irrelevant.

What you get, and what it costs

$12.67 a coffee on the three-count box, the cheapest per bag in this comparison - and it cannot be turned into a price per kilo.

$38 for three works out at $12.67 each; $75 for six is $12.50. Against Trade's $21.99, Blue Bottle's $22 and Black Rifle's $16.99, that is a large difference on the face of it.

The qualification is that Volcanica does not publish a bag weight on the Coffee Club page, so the comparison stops at the bag. A cheaper bag holding less is not cheaper coffee, and this site does not estimate weights it has not been given. Ask before assuming the saving is real.

Shipping is free on every box, against $60 or a $6.95 flat rate for ordinary orders, and the first subscription order is 20% off.

How fresh is the coffee?

Not stated. The Coffee Club page describes the boxes and the choice and says nothing about roasting.

There is no roasted-to-order claim, no roast-to-despatch figure and no roast-date promise. That places Volcanica with Peet's, Blue Bottle and Black Rifle rather than with Trade, Misto, Intelligentsia or Origin.

Volcanica roasts in Atlanta and sells specialty coffee from volcanic regions, and none of that is in question. What is missing is any statement about timing, which is what this criterion measures.

Can you cancel it?

The Coffee Club page does not say, and that is the most important gap on it.

Every other subscription in this comparison states its exit somewhere a buyer will see it. Black Rifle puts "cancel anytime, no commitments" at the top of the club page. Stumptown lists skip, change, pause and cancel as one of four bullets. Atlas prints it under the checkout button. Volcanica's Coffee Club page describes the boxes, the choice, the oat milk and the rewards, and does not mention cancelling at all.

That is not evidence you cannot cancel, and it would be unfair to read it that way. It is evidence that the question is unanswered where a buyer would look, and on a recurring charge that matters. This criterion is worth 24 of 100 here, and Volcanica is scored on what it has published, which on this point is nothing.

Find the answer in their terms, or ask, before you subscribe.

Volcanica vs Trade

A flat rate from one roaster against per-bag pricing from hundreds. Volcanica is cheaper on the sticker and tells you less.

Trade charges $21.99 for a 310g bag, publishes the weight, roasts to order, documents its cancellation in detail and charges for shipping unless you prepay. Volcanica charges $12.67 a coffee, includes shipping, publishes no weight, makes no roasting claim and does not mention cancelling.

On price Volcanica wins clearly at the bag level and cannot be compared at the kilo level. On evidence Trade wins on every count. Which matters more depends on whether you want a cheap habit or a documented one.

The honest summary: Volcanica looks like the best value here, and publishes the least of anybody to support it.

Is the Volcanica Coffee Club worth it?

Good value if the bags are a normal size, and that is worth establishing first.

Everything about the offer is attractive. A flat rate is easier to reason about than per-bag pricing, twenty coffees is real choice, shipping is included, and the oat milk is a genuine extra rather than a discount dressed as one. 8,720 reviews sit behind the club page.

Two questions to answer before subscribing, and both are quick: how much coffee is in a bag, and how you cancel. Neither is on the page, and neither should stop you if the answers are ordinary.

Who should subscribe (and who should not)

Subscribe if you like choosing and hate arithmetic. Do not subscribe without asking two questions first.

Good fit: somebody who wants to pick their own coffees each month rather than be sent a selection; a household that will use the oat milk; a buyer who prefers one predictable monthly figure to a per-bag price that moves with what gets chosen.

Poor fit: anyone comparing on price per kilo, which cannot be done here. Anyone who wants the cancellation terms in writing before handing over a card. And anyone buying on roast date, which is not published.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is the Volcanica Coffee Club?

$38 a month for a three-coffee box or $75 for six, which is $12.67 and $12.50 a coffee. Shipping is included on every box and the first subscription order is 20% off.

Is shipping free with the Volcanica Coffee Club?

Yes, on every box. Volcanica's ordinary orders ship free over $60 or at a $6.95 flat rate, so the club steps around both.

How do I cancel the Volcanica Coffee Club?

The Coffee Club page does not say. It describes the boxes, the choice and the rewards without mentioning cancelling, pausing or skipping, so the answer has to come from their terms or their support team. We have not scored what is not published.

How many coffees can I choose from?

Twenty, mixed and matched across your box each month, drawn from Volcanica's specialty range from volcanic growing regions.

What is the free oat milk?

Volcanica includes oat milk with every Coffee Club order, described as free milk for life for members. No other subscription in our comparison includes anything similar.

Is Volcanica coffee roasted to order?

Not stated. The Coffee Club page makes no claim about when coffee is roasted and gives no despatch figure, so we have not scored it.

Who roasts this

Volcanica CoffeeWhere they are based, how they ship, and the 5 of their coffees we have reviewed, ranked.
Volcanica Coffee Club is featured in

Alternatives to Volcanica Coffee Club

See all Volcanica Coffee Club alternatives →

Other Coffee Subscriptions options we've reviewed.