Misto Coffee Subscription Review

Sixty independent American roasters matched to a taste profile, with free shipping

Misto, formerly MistoBox, is a coffee subscription that matches you to beans from more than 60 independent American roasters using a short quiz and an algorithm. It does not roast anything itself. Bags start at $20 with free shipping on every plan, and the coffee is roasted to order and shipped directly by the roaster.

Spec-led review. Built from the manufacturer’s published specification and price rather than hands-on testing. Figures we could not find stated are left blank instead of estimated. Updated when we get one in.

Our rating
8.6/ 10
Excellent
6 of 6 scored, out of 84.6 points · 15.4 not judgeable from specs

How we rate coffee subscriptions — what each criterion measures, and what we cannot.

Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out10.0 / 10
worth 19.2 of 84.6 · 4.8 unpublished · well evidenced
how we got 10.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 100% published.
Cancel onlineYes, from the dashboard under Settings, at any time3.0 / 3.0
Skip a deliveryYes, Reschedule moves the next ship date up to 90 days out and the queue is kept2.0 / 2.0
PauseYes, with a Resume button to restart1.5 / 1.5
Notice requirednot applicable
Minimum commitment11.5 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 8.0 between them and this one took 8.0, which is 10.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 19.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo6.2 / 10
worth 22 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 6.2

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 55% published.
Cost per bag20.00 USD2.4 / 4.0
Cost per kilonot in our data1.5 / 3.0
Shipping includedYes, free shipping1.5 / 1.5
First box discountnot in our data0.75 / 1.5

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 6.15, which is 6.2 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 22 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Freshness & Roast Dates (roasted to order only)10.0 / 10
worth 7.2 of 84.6 · 8.8 unpublished · well evidenced
how we got 10.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 100% published.
Roasted to orderYes, roasted to order and shipped direct from the roaster4.5 / 4.5
Roast to despatchnot applicable
Roast date printednot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 4.5 between them and this one took 4.5, which is 10.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 7.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

Choice & Personalisation10.0 / 10
worth 16 of 84.6 · well evidenced
how we got 10.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 100% published.
Roasters offered603.0 / 3.0
Grind choiceadjustable in the dashboard settings2.5 / 2.5
Roast choiceYes, roast level is a subscription setting2.5 / 2.5
Matched to tasteYes, a 60-second quiz then algorithmic matching2.0 / 2.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 10.0, which is 10.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 16 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

What Actually Arrives8.5 / 10
worth 10.2 of 84.6 · 1.8 unpublished · partly evidenced
how we got 8.5

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from specs that predict this rather than measure it. 71% published.
Specialty gradeYes, coffees are cupped before they are listed3.5 / 3.5
Single origin offerednot in our data1.25 / 2.5
Roasters namedYes, the roaster is named on every coffee2.5 / 2.5
Direct tradenot applicable

The rows that apply here are worth 8.5 between them and this one took 7.25, which is 8.5 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10.2 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 2.5 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 1.25 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

Delivery & Straight Answers8.0 / 10
worth 10 of 84.6 · partly evidenced
how we got 8.0

what this measures, and what we cannot

What it was scored onScored from the specs the maker publishes. 60% published.
Where it shipsnot in our data2.0 / 4.0
Frequency optionsYes, adjustable in the dashboard settings3.0 / 3.0
Price shown upfrontYes, from $20 a bag stated on the homepage3.0 / 3.0

The rows that apply here are worth 10.0 between them and this one took 8.0, which is 8.0 out of 10. That 0–10 result is what the criterion's 10 of 84.6 points are then scaled by.

The 4.0 points we could not find a figure for are scored at the middle of the scale rather than as a zero, which awards 2.0 of them: the greyed figures above. We will not guess a specification and we will not mark the product down for our own missing research.

The verdict

Misto is the best-value curated subscription in this batch and the most honest about its own size. Sixty roasters and 600 coffees are stated plainly, shipping is free on every plan from $20 a bag, and every control that matters lives in your own dashboard. What it does not publish is a bag weight, so the per-kilo price cannot be worked out before you buy.

Pros

  • Free shipping on every plan, with no prepaid bundle required to unlock it.
  • Sixty roasters and 600+ coffees, and unusually for this market, both numbers are published rather than implied.
  • Reschedule parks the next shipment up to 90 days out and keeps your queue exactly as it was, which is a pause without the word.
  • Roast level, grind, frequency, flavour profile and a maximum price per bag are all adjustable from the dashboard.
  • Cancelling is two clicks under Settings, and any prepaid credit already on the balance stays usable afterwards.

Cons

  • No bag weight is published, so the price per kilo cannot be calculated before ordering and we have not scored it.
  • Individual coffee prices vary by roaster, and a coffee priced above your chosen maximum simply stops being offered to you.
  • The prepaid balance renews automatically once it can no longer cover a shipment, which is a charge you have to opt out of rather than into.
  • Where Misto ships is not stated on the pages we read.
  • There is no money-back guarantee stated, only the ability to leave.

What is Misto Coffee Subscription?

Misto is a matchmaker rather than a roaster. It takes a 60-second quiz about how you brew and what you like, then picks coffee from more than 60 independent American roasters and has them roast it to order.

The company was MistoBox and now trades as Misto. The model has not changed: it holds no coffee itself, and each bag ships directly from the roaster who made it rather than from a warehouse. Misto says it cups coffees before listing them, which is the filter between 600 available coffees and the handful you are offered.

Two numbers are worth noting because so few services in this market publish them: 60+ roasters and 600+ coffees. Trade, its closest competitor, states a coffee count and never a roaster count. Knowing the size of the roster before you sign up is a small thing that turns out to be rare.

What you get, and what it costs

From $20 a bag, and shipping is free on every plan. That second half is the part that decides the comparison.

Misto's headline is "From $20/bag · Free Shipping", and unlike Trade there is no bundle to buy or plan tier to reach before postage stops being charged. You also set a maximum price per bag in your settings, which caps what the service will pick for you.

There is a prepaid option that works as coffee credit rather than a discount on bags: $100 buys $105 of credit, $150 buys $165, and $200 buys $230. Each shipment draws down the balance. When the balance can no longer cover the next coffee, the card on file is charged again for the same amount, automatically, so that shipments do not stop. That renewal is worth knowing about before you top up.

What Misto does not publish is how much coffee is in a bag. Without a weight there is no price per kilo, and a $20 bag is a very different proposition at 250g than at 340g. We have left the per-kilo figure blank rather than guess it, and it is the one gap in an otherwise well-documented service.

How fresh is the coffee?

Roasted to order by the roaster who owns it and posted from their own facility. No warehouse sits between the roast and the parcel.

Misto puts it plainly: your coffee is roasted to order by one of 60+ indie roasters, then ships straight from the roaster to your door. That is the same mechanism Trade uses and it is the right one, because the alternative is coffee that was roasted to fill a shelf and waited there for an order.

Like Trade, Misto does not publish a maximum number of days between the order and the despatch, because each roaster keeps its own schedule. Nor does it state whether a roast date is printed on the bag. Both are decisions belonging to sixty different roasters rather than to Misto, and we have scored neither.

Can you cancel it?

Yes, from the dashboard under Settings, at any time. Misto also offers the best middle option in this batch, which is a reschedule that keeps everything.

Cancelling takes two clicks: dashboard, Settings, cancel. There is no notice period, no minimum number of shipments, and no phone call. If you have prepaid credit sitting on the balance, cancelling stops the automatic renewal and the credit you have already bought stays available for shipments.

Before that there is Reschedule, which is the control most services do not have. It moves your next ship date up to 90 days out and leaves your queue exactly as you arranged it, so a three-month break costs you nothing and loses nothing. There is a Pause with a Resume button for an open-ended break, and a Ship Now button that sends the next coffee immediately instead of waiting.

Everything else is adjustable in the same place: roast level, grind, flavour profile, frequency and the maximum you want to pay per bag. Changes apply from your next pick.

Misto vs Trade

The same idea run two ways. Misto is cheaper once postage is counted and more open about its size; Trade has the deeper catalogue.

On the sticker they are close: Misto from $20 a bag, Trade at $21.99 for a 310g Premium bag. Postage separates them. Misto includes shipping on every plan. Trade charges for it unless you prepay for three, six or twelve bags or take the two-pound subscription. For anyone not buying in bundles, that difference is larger than the difference in bag price.

Trade's advantage is range: 450+ coffees on Premium against Misto's 600 across 60 roasters, and a two-pound option at $49.99 that works out cheaper per kilo than anything Misto publishes. Trade also states its bag weight, which Misto does not, so Trade is the only one of the two you can actually price per kilo before ordering.

On leaving, both are excellent and Misto is slightly better, because Reschedule lets you disappear for three months without cancelling anything.

Is Misto worth it?

Yes, and it is the one to start with if you have not subscribed to coffee before.

Free shipping on every plan removes the trap most of this market sets, which is a low headline price that grows at the checkout. $20 a bag from sixty vetted roasters, with the roaster named on every coffee and the ability to leave in two clicks, is a fair deal on its face.

The reservation is the missing bag weight. Until Misto publishes one you are buying a price per bag and not a price per coffee, and $20 could be excellent value or ordinary depending on a number the site does not give you. Ask before you commit to a prepaid balance.

Who should subscribe (and who should not)

Subscribe if you want variety without administration. Do not subscribe if you count cost per kilo.

Good fit: a first-time subscriber who wants the price they saw to be the price they pay; anyone who travels and needs to park deliveries for weeks at a time; somebody who wants to be told which roaster made their coffee rather than receiving an unbranded bag.

Poor fit: anyone comparing on price per kilo, since Misto does not publish the weight to compute it. Anyone who wants a refund rather than an exit, because Misto states no money-back guarantee. And anyone outside the United States, since Misto does not state that it ships anywhere else.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Misto cost?

From $20 a bag, with free shipping on every plan. Individual coffees vary in price because each roaster sets its own, and you can cap what Misto picks by setting a maximum price per bag in your settings.

Is Misto the same as MistoBox?

Yes. The service traded as MistoBox and now uses Misto. The model, the roasters and the dashboard are the same.

How do I cancel Misto?

From your dashboard under Settings, at any time. There is no notice period and no minimum number of shipments. Any prepaid credit already on your balance stays available for future shipments.

Can I pause Misto instead of cancelling?

Yes. Reschedule moves your next ship date up to 90 days out and keeps your queue intact, and there is a separate Pause with a Resume button for an open-ended break.

How many roasters does Misto work with?

More than 60 independent American roasters, offering more than 600 coffees. Misto is unusual in this market for publishing both numbers.

Does Misto tell you which roaster made the coffee?

Yes. The roaster is named on every coffee, and the bag ships from that roaster directly rather than from a Misto warehouse.

Misto is featured in

Alternatives to Misto

See all Misto alternatives →

Other Coffee Subscriptions options we've reviewed.