Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club
AheadStumptown Coffee Club is the better buy on our scoring, 8.3 to Bean Box Coffee Subscription's 7.6. It leads on cost per bag, and per kilo and what actually arrives.
Who each one suits
Rotating through 64 named American roasters without picking one, at a lower price per kilo than Trade
Scores higher on choice & personalisation.
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, what actually arrives, delivery & straight answers.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Bean Box Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 6.3 | 7.8 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 8.8 | 7.6 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 5.0 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 8.5 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 5.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | $19.50 | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Bean Box Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $19.50 | — |
| Best for | Rotating through 64 named American roasters without picking one, at a lower price per kilo than Trade | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 19.50 USD | 20.00 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| Delivery Frequency | Every 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 weeks | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | — | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Yes, whole bean or ground, and the price differs | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 57.32 USD | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | — | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | — | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roasters | 64 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✕ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://beanbox.com/coffee-subscription | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Publishes a roaster count, 64, where Trade states none
- +Cheaper per kilo than Trade: $46.30 on the Office Duo against Trade's $70.94
- +Pause, skip and cancel are all self-service, with no notice period or minimum
- +Eight tasting plans including decaf, espresso, cold brew and single origin
- +A free bag when you join
- −Subscription shipping is a flat rate Bean Box does not publish anywhere
- −Not stated as roasted to order, coffee is packed in Seattle, not shipped by the roaster
- −No roast date policy published
- −The single 12oz bag at $57.32 a kilo is poor value against the 2lb plans
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
Every specification, side by side
| Bean Box Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $19.50 | — |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Rotating through 64 named American roasters without picking one, at a lower price per kilo than Trade | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 340 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 19.50 USD | 20.00 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| Delivery Frequency | Every 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 weeks | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | — | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Yes, whole bean or ground, and the price differs | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 57.32 USD | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | — | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | — | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 64 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | — | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✕ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://beanbox.com/coffee-subscription | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Bean Box Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club?
Stumptown Coffee Club scores 8.3 against 7.6, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Bean Box Coffee Subscription is still ahead on choice & personalisation.
Is Bean Box Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club cheaper?
Bean Box Coffee Subscription starts at $19.50, and Stumptown Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Bean Box Coffee Subscription for?
Rotating through 64 named American roasters without picking one, at a lower price per kilo than Trade
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Keep comparing
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Blue Bottle Coffee Subscription
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Peet's Coffee Subscription
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Trade Coffee
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Intelligentsia Coffee Subscription
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Atlas Coffee Club
- Bean Box Coffee Subscription vs Volcanica Coffee Club












