Misto vs Stumptown Coffee Club
Ahead
Misto is the better buy on our scoring, 8.8 to Stumptown Coffee Club's 8.3. It leads on freshness & roast dates and choice & personalisation.
Who each one suits
Sixty independent American roasters matched to a taste profile, with free shipping
Scores higher on freshness & roast dates, choice & personalisation.
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Misto | Stumptown Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 6.2 | 7.8 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 10.0 | 5.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 10.0 | 7.6 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 8.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Misto | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Sixty independent American roasters matched to a taste profile, with free shipping | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Bag Size | — | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| First Box Discount | — | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Yes, adjustable in the dashboard settings | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | adjustable in the dashboard settings | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | — | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Yes, roast level is a subscription setting | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | Yes, roasted to order and shipped direct from the roaster | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roasters | 60 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://www.mistobox.com/subscribe | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Free shipping on every plan, with no prepaid bundle required to earn it.
- +Sixty roasters and 600+ coffees, and unusually for this market, both numbers are published rather than implied.
- +Reschedule parks the next shipment up to 90 days out and keeps your queue exactly as it was, which is a pause without the word.
- +Roast level, grind, frequency, flavour profile and a maximum price per bag are all adjustable from the dashboard.
- +Cancelling is two clicks under Settings, and any prepaid credit already on the balance stays usable afterwards.
- −No bag weight is published, so the price per kilo cannot be calculated before ordering and we have not scored it.
- −Individual coffee prices vary by roaster, and a coffee priced above your chosen maximum simply stops being offered to you.
- −The prepaid balance renews automatically once it can no longer cover a shipment, which is a charge you have to opt out of rather than into.
- −Where Misto ships is not stated on the pages we read.
- −There is no money-back guarantee stated, only the ability to leave.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
Every specification, side by side
| Misto | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Sixty independent American roasters matched to a taste profile, with free shipping | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | — | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 20.00 USD |
| First Box Discount | — | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Yes, adjustable in the dashboard settings | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | adjustable in the dashboard settings | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | — | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Yes, roast level is a subscription setting | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | Yes, roasted to order and shipped direct from the roaster | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 60 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Standalone curator | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://www.mistobox.com/subscribe | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Misto vs Stumptown Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Misto or Stumptown Coffee Club?
Misto scores 8.8 against 8.3, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Stumptown Coffee Club is still ahead on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Is Misto or Stumptown Coffee Club cheaper?
Misto starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Misto for?
Sixty independent American roasters matched to a taste profile, with free shipping
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks











