Origin Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club
Ahead
Origin Coffee Subscription is narrowly ahead, 8.4 to Stumptown Coffee Club's 8.3. It leads on freshness & roast dates and delivery & straight answers.
Who each one suits
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag
Scores higher on freshness & roast dates, delivery & straight answers.
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, choice & personalisation.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Origin Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 6.5 | 7.8 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 10.0 | 5.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.3 | 7.6 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 10.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | $16 | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Origin Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $16 | — |
| Best for | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Bag Price Usd Converted | 17.00 | — |
| Bag Size | 250 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | B Corp | — |
| Cost per Bag | — | 20.00 USD |
| Days Roast to Despatch | 1 | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | ✓ | — |
| Price per kg | — | 58.82 USD |
| Price Source Currency | GBP | — |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | — | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | Yes, daily fresh roasts | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United Kingdom | United States |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | UK, EU, US, worldwide | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription URL | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Next-day despatch on daily fresh roasts, which is the tightest published roast-to-post window in this batch.
- +Free delivery on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum to earn it.
- +The bag is sized to fit through a letterbox, so a delivery does not need somebody at home.
- +A certified B Corp, with the sourcing commitments that certification requires, rather than a self-declared claim.
- +Ships to the UK, EU, US and worldwide, which is the widest reach in this batch.
- −Pausing, skipping and cancelling are done through their iOS and Android app, and no web equivalent is stated.
- −Priced in pounds. Our dollar figure is a converted estimate and is deliberately not scored, so the value criterion sits at the midpoint.
- −One roaster only, so there is no discovery of other roasters.
- −The free-delivery threshold is advertised at both £25 and £35 in different places on the site, which needs clarifying at the basket.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
Every specification, side by side
| Origin Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $16 | — |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Price Usd Converted | 17.00 | — |
| Bag Size | 250 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | B Corp | — |
| Cost per Bag | — | 20.00 USD |
| Days Roast to Despatch | 1 | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | ✓ | — |
| Price per kg | — | 58.82 USD |
| Price Source Currency | GBP | — |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | — | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | Yes, daily fresh roasts | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United Kingdom | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Ships to | UK, EU, US, worldwide | — |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Origin Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Origin Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club?
Origin Coffee Subscription scores 8.4 against 8.3, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Stumptown Coffee Club is still ahead on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Is Origin Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club cheaper?
Origin Coffee Subscription starts at $16, and Stumptown Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Origin Coffee Subscription for?
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks











