Stumptown Coffee Club vs Volcanica Coffee Club


Stumptown Coffee Club and Volcanica Coffee Club score the same, 8.3 out of 10, so the choice is what each is better at rather than which is better.
Who each one suits
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cancelling, skipping & getting out, choice & personalisation.
A flat monthly rate for three or six coffees, with shipping and oat milk included
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, freshness & roast dates.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Stumptown Coffee Club | Volcanica Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 9.1 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 7.8 | 8.6 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 10.0 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 7.6 | 5.3 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 8.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Stumptown Coffee Club | Volcanica Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks | A flat monthly rate for three or six coffees, with shipping and oat milk included |
| Bag Size | 340 g | 227 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 12.67 USD |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks | Monthly, delivered on your schedule |
| Gift Option | ✓ | — |
| Grind Options | whole bean or pre-ground | — |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | — |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 55.81 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | — |
| Roast Choice | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat | Twenty coffees to choose from, mixed and matched per box |
| Roasted to Order | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness | Yes, roasted fresh before each shipment |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription URL | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe | https://volcanicacoffee.com/pages/coffee-club |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
- +$12.67 a coffee on the three-count box, about $56 a kilo, cheaper per kilo than Trade or Blue Bottle.
- +Coffee is roasted fresh before each shipment, stated on the Coffee Club page.
- +Pause or cancel your membership anytime, and skip a delivery, from Volcanica's own pages.
- +Free shipping on every box, against a $60 threshold or a $6.95 flat rate on ordinary orders.
- +Twenty coffees to mix and match each month, plus oat milk with every order and 20% off the first subscription order.
- −Each coffee is an 8 oz box, smaller than the 12 oz bag most roasters sell, so the per-bag price flatters it.
- −One roaster, so the twenty coffees are all Volcanica's own.
- −A flat rate means a cheap coffee and an expensive one cost you the same, which suits the roaster more than the buyer.
- −No number of days between roasting and despatch is given.
Every specification, side by side
| Stumptown Coffee Club | Volcanica Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks | A flat monthly rate for three or six coffees, with shipping and oat milk included |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 340 g | 227 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 20.00 USD | 12.67 USD |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks | Monthly, delivered on your schedule |
| Gift Option | ✓ | — |
| Grind Options | whole bean or pre-ground | — |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | — |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 58.82 USD | 55.81 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | — |
| Roast Choice | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat | Twenty coffees to choose from, mixed and matched per box |
| Roasted to Order | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness | Yes, roasted fresh before each shipment |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe | https://volcanicacoffee.com/pages/coffee-club |
Stumptown Coffee Club vs Volcanica Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Stumptown Coffee Club or Volcanica Coffee Club?
Both score 8.3 out of 10 on the specifications their makers publish, so neither is ahead overall. Stumptown Coffee Club leads on cancelling, skipping & getting out, and Volcanica Coffee Club on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Is Stumptown Coffee Club or Volcanica Coffee Club cheaper?
Stumptown Coffee Club starts at Not publicly stated, and Volcanica Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Who is Volcanica Coffee Club for?
A flat monthly rate for three or six coffees, with shipping and oat milk included











