Koa Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters

The verdict

Koa Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Koa Coffee

Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend

Stumptown Coffee Roasters

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Koa CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
Based inCaptain Cook, Hawaii, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Best forAnybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blendAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apartA single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggestsA Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Coffees Reviewed84
Flavoured LineNoneNo
FormatGround, Whole bean—
OriginHawaiiCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range170.86 to 248.02—
Price per kg170.86 USD—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast Date Printed✓—
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkMedium, Dark
Roaster CityCaptain Cook, HawaiiPortland, Oregon
Ships toUS, worldwideUS, CA, UK
Ships to NoteShips to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which.Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, BerryChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Koa Coffee
  • +A roast date printed, which almost no roaster on this site does
  • +Eight coffees from a single named origin, Hawaii, across three roast levels
  • +Ground and whole bean with a subscription available
  • −$170.86 to $248.02 a kilo, four times the next most expensive roaster here
  • −One origin only, so there is no range to move across
  • −No certifications are published for the range
Full Koa Coffee review →
Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
  • +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
  • +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
  • +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
  • −Four coffees reviewed
  • −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
  • −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Full Stumptown Coffee Roasters review →

Every specification, side by side

Koa CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
The maker
Based inCaptain Cook, Hawaii, United StatesPortland, Oregon, United States
Who it suits
Best forAnybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blendAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apartA single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggestsA Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Specifications
Coffees Reviewed84
Flavoured LineNoneNo
FormatGround, Whole bean—
Gift Sets Reviewed00
OriginHawaiiCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Price per Kg Range170.86 to 248.02—
Price per kg170.86 USD—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast Date Printed✓—
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkMedium, Dark
Roaster CityCaptain Cook, HawaiiPortland, Oregon
Roaster CountryUnited StatesUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUSUS
Ships toUS, worldwideUS, CA, UK
Ships to NoteShips to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which.Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, BerryChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Koa Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions

Is Koa Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?

Koa Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.

Who is Koa Coffee for?

Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend

Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

Keep comparing