Cooper’s Cask Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters


Cooper’s Cask Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Coffee drinkers seeking barrel-aged and single-origin specialty beans with a unique whiskey or rum flavor influence
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Cooper’s Cask Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Best for | Coffee drinkers seeking barrel-aged and single-origin specialty beans with a unique whiskey or rum flavor influence | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Cooper's Cask Coffee ages grade-1 single-origin beans in award-winning whiskey and rum barrels, roasting fresh to order in small batches. | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Compared with | Death Wish Coffee, Volcanica Coffee, Atlas Coffee Club | — |
| Coffees Reviewed | 22 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 8 | 0 |
| Grind Options | Cold brew, Espresso, Filter / drip, French press, Pour over, Whole bean | — |
| Origin | Colombia, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Costa Rica, Kenya, Sumatra, Brazil, Guatemala, Peru, Tanzania | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Price per Kg Range | 33.05 to 64.52 | — |
| Price per kg | 33.05 USD | — |
| Processing Method | Barrel aged, Washed, Honey, Natural, Swiss Water | Washed |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | East Greenwich, Rhode Island | Portland, Oregon |
| Ships to | US | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Ships within the US. International orders are arranged individually by contacting the roaster, and any customs fees are the buyer's. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Berry, Winey & barrel-aged, Citrus, Creamy | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Ten named origin countries across five roast levels is one of the widest combinations in this price bracket.
- +A barrel-aged processing line is offered without artificial flavoring, a genuine point of difference at $33 to $61 per kilo.
- +Swiss Water decaf is sold as a named-origin coffee, not a stripped blend.
- +Four grind options plus whole bean let a buyer match the coffee to their brew method at checkout.
- −The roaster prints no roast date, so a buyer cannot tell from the packaging how recently a bag was roasted.
- −Ground and whole bean are the only formats available, so pod brewers have no compatible option.
- −The barrel-aged and specialty lots reach $61.71 per kilo, a significant step up from the entry price.
- +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
- +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
- +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
- +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
- −Four coffees reviewed
- −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
- −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Every specification, side by side
| Cooper’s Cask Coffee | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Coffee drinkers seeking barrel-aged and single-origin specialty beans with a unique whiskey or rum flavor influence | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | Cooper's Cask Coffee ages grade-1 single-origin beans in award-winning whiskey and rum barrels, roasting fresh to order in small batches. | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Compared with | Death Wish Coffee, Volcanica Coffee, Atlas Coffee Club | — |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 22 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | None | No |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 8 | 0 |
| Grind Options | Cold brew, Espresso, Filter / drip, French press, Pour over, Whole bean | — |
| Origin | Colombia, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Costa Rica, Kenya, Sumatra, Brazil, Guatemala, Peru, Tanzania | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Price per Kg Range | 33.05 to 64.52 | — |
| Price per kg | 33.05 USD | — |
| Processing Method | Barrel aged, Washed, Honey, Natural, Swiss Water | Washed |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium-light, Medium, Medium-dark, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | East Greenwich, Rhode Island | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | US | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Ships within the US. International orders are arranged individually by contacting the roaster, and any customs fees are the buyer's. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Berry, Winey & barrel-aged, Citrus, Creamy | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Cooper’s Cask Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions
Is Cooper’s Cask Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?
Cooper’s Cask Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.
Who is Cooper’s Cask Coffee for?
Coffee drinkers seeking barrel-aged and single-origin specialty beans with a unique whiskey or rum flavor influence
Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it











