Lavazza vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters


Lavazza and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Anybody who wants Italian espresso blends rather than single origin coffee
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Lavazza | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Turin, Italy | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Best for | Anybody who wants Italian espresso blends rather than single origin coffee | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | A family roaster since 1895 that built its name on blending, not on naming farms | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Coffees Reviewed | 5 | 4 |
| Grind Options | Espresso, Whole bean | — |
| Origin | South America, Africa, Southeast Asia, Colombia, Brazil, Peru, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Honduras, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Mexico, India, Java | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | Washed, Natural | Washed |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roaster City | Turin | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | Italy | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | IT | US |
| Ships to | US, UK, EU, worldwide | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Sold widely in Europe and internationally through supermarkets and the maker's own regional stores. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✕ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Spice | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Nine origins named across the range including Colombia, Brazil, Peru, Guatemala and Costa Rica
- +Washed and natural processing both published, which most roasters here omit
- +1kg bags, the largest format on this site, from a roaster founded in 1895
- −No roast date is printed and no subscription is offered
- −No certifications are published on any bag in the range
- −Two tasting notes across five coffees, and one of them is a single word
- +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
- +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
- +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
- +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
- −Four coffees reviewed
- −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
- −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Every specification, side by side
| Lavazza | Stumptown Coffee Roasters | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Turin, Italy | Portland, Oregon, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Anybody who wants Italian espresso blends rather than single origin coffee | Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it |
| What sets it apart | A family roaster since 1895 that built its name on blending, not on naming farms | A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 5 | 4 |
| Flavoured Line | ✕ | ✕ |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 0 |
| Grind Options | Espresso, Whole bean | — |
| Origin | South America, Africa, Southeast Asia, Colombia, Brazil, Peru, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Honduras, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Mexico, India, Java | Central America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa |
| Processing Method | Washed, Natural | Washed |
| Roast Date Printed | ✕ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Dark | Medium, Dark |
| Roaster City | Turin | Portland, Oregon |
| Roaster Country | Italy | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | IT | US |
| Ships to | US, UK, EU, worldwide | US, CA, UK |
| Ships to Note | Sold widely in Europe and internationally through supermarkets and the maker's own regional stores. | Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered. |
| Subscription Available | ✕ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Spice | Chocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread |
Lavazza vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions
Is Lavazza or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?
Lavazza starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.
Who is Lavazza for?
Anybody who wants Italian espresso blends rather than single origin coffee
Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?
Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it











