Koa Coffee vs Origin Coffee


Koa Coffee and Origin Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend
UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Koa Coffee | Origin Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Brand founded | — | 2004 |
| Based in | Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States | Porthleven, Cornwall, England |
| Best for | Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend | UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast |
| What sets it apart | A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests | — |
| Coffee Shops | — | 7 |
| Coffees Reviewed | 8 | — |
| Despatch Speed | — | Roasted and despatched the next working day on orders before 23:59 |
| Flavoured Line | None | — |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Founded Year | — | 2004 |
| Founder | — | Tom Sobey |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | — |
| Origin | Hawaii | Brazil, Kenya, Colombia, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South America, Central America |
| Packaging Note | — | One or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, under Royal Mail's large-letter height limits |
| Price per Kg Range | 170.86 to 248.02 | — |
| Price per kg | 170.86 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✓ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Medium-dark, Dark | Light |
| Roast Style | — | Light, in the Nordic-influenced speciality tradition |
| Roaster City | Captain Cook, Hawaii | Porthleven, Cornwall |
| Roaster Country | United States | United Kingdom |
| Roaster Country Code | US | UK |
| Shipping Checked At | — | 2026-09-07 |
| Shipping Currency | — | GBP |
| Shipping Customs Note | — | Import duty and local taxes are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin says so plainly. It cannot ship lithium batteries to China. |
| Shipping Domestic | — | UK under £35: Royal Mail Tracked 48 £2.95, Tracked 24 £3.95. £35 and over: Tracked 48 free, Tracked 24 £1.95. Subscriptions: Tracked 48 free. Over 2kg goes DPD next day, free. |
| Shipping Free Threshold | — | £35 within the UK |
| Shipping International | — | Europe £12.95, North America £14.95, rest of world £19.95 |
| Shipping Weight Cap | — | 1.75kg outside the UK; email for a quote above it |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | UK, EU, US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which. | Ships worldwide from Cornwall. Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg; above that Origin asks you to email for a quote. |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry | Chocolate, Nutty, Caramel & toffee, Berry, Creamy |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +A roast date printed, which almost no roaster on this site does
- +Eight coffees from a single named origin, Hawaii, across three roast levels
- +Ground and whole bean with a subscription available
- −$170.86 to $248.02 a kilo, four times the next most expensive roaster here
- −One origin only, so there is no range to move across
- −No certifications are published for the range
- +Roasted and despatched the next working day on orders placed before 23:59, which is the tightest published roast-to-post window of any roaster here.
- +One or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, so a delivery does not need anybody at home and does not sit in a depot losing freshness.
- +Ships worldwide from Cornwall - UK, EU, US and beyond - where most roasters on this site ship domestically only.
- +A certified B Corp roasting since 2004, with seven coffee shops of its own, so the sourcing claims are backed by certification rather than adjectives.
- +Free UK delivery over £35, and a subscription that ships free on every order regardless of value.
- −Priced in pounds, so North American buyers pay a converted price plus £14.95 shipping before any import duty.
- −Import duty and local taxes outside the UK are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin states it does not cover them.
- −Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg, above which you have to email for a quote rather than simply checking out.
- −Roasts light in the Nordic-influenced tradition throughout, which is a narrower house style than roasters offering a full light-to-dark range.
- −Subscription management is through their iOS and Android app, with no web route stated.
Every specification, side by side
| Koa Coffee | Origin Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Brand founded | — | 2004 |
| Based in | Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States | Porthleven, Cornwall, England |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend | UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast |
| What sets it apart | A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests | — |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffee Shops | — | 7 |
| Coffees Reviewed | 8 | — |
| Despatch Speed | — | Roasted and despatched the next working day on orders before 23:59 |
| Flavoured Line | None | — |
| Format | Ground, Whole bean | — |
| Founded Year | — | 2004 |
| Founder | — | Tom Sobey |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | — |
| Origin | Hawaii | Brazil, Kenya, Colombia, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South America, Central America |
| Packaging Note | — | One or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, under Royal Mail's large-letter height limits |
| Price per Kg Range | 170.86 to 248.02 | — |
| Price per kg | 170.86 USD | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✓ | — |
| Roast Levels | Medium, Medium-dark, Dark | Light |
| Roast Style | — | Light, in the Nordic-influenced speciality tradition |
| Roaster City | Captain Cook, Hawaii | Porthleven, Cornwall |
| Roaster Country | United States | United Kingdom |
| Roaster Country Code | US | UK |
| Shipping Checked At | — | 2026-09-07 |
| Shipping Currency | — | GBP |
| Shipping Customs Note | — | Import duty and local taxes are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin says so plainly. It cannot ship lithium batteries to China. |
| Shipping Domestic | — | UK under £35: Royal Mail Tracked 48 £2.95, Tracked 24 £3.95. £35 and over: Tracked 48 free, Tracked 24 £1.95. Subscriptions: Tracked 48 free. Over 2kg goes DPD next day, free. |
| Shipping Free Threshold | — | £35 within the UK |
| Shipping International | — | Europe £12.95, North America £14.95, rest of world £19.95 |
| Shipping Weight Cap | — | 1.75kg outside the UK; email for a quote above it |
| Ships to | US, worldwide | UK, EU, US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which. | Ships worldwide from Cornwall. Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg; above that Origin asks you to email for a quote. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry | Chocolate, Nutty, Caramel & toffee, Berry, Creamy |
Koa Coffee vs Origin Coffee: common questions
Is Koa Coffee or Origin Coffee cheaper?
Koa Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Origin Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Koa Coffee for?
Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend
Who is Origin Coffee for?
UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast











