Origin Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters

The verdict

Origin Coffee and Stumptown Coffee Roasters, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Origin Coffee

UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast

Stumptown Coffee Roasters

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Origin CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
Brand founded2004—
Based inPorthleven, Cornwall, EnglandPortland, Oregon, United States
Best forUK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fastAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Coffee Shops7—
Coffees Reviewed—4
Despatch SpeedRoasted and despatched the next working day on orders before 23:59—
Flavoured Line—✕
Founded Year2004—
FounderTom Sobey—
Gift Sets Reviewed—0
OriginBrazil, Kenya, Colombia, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South America, Central AmericaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Packaging NoteOne or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, under Royal Mail's large-letter height limits—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast LevelsLightMedium, Dark
Roast StyleLight, in the Nordic-influenced speciality tradition—
Roaster CityPorthleven, CornwallPortland, Oregon
Roaster CountryUnited KingdomUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUKUS
Shipping Checked At2026-09-07—
Shipping CurrencyGBP—
Shipping Customs NoteImport duty and local taxes are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin says so plainly. It cannot ship lithium batteries to China.—
Shipping DomesticUK under £35: Royal Mail Tracked 48 £2.95, Tracked 24 £3.95. £35 and over: Tracked 48 free, Tracked 24 £1.95. Subscriptions: Tracked 48 free. Over 2kg goes DPD next day, free.—
Shipping Free Threshold£35 within the UK—
Shipping InternationalEurope £12.95, North America £14.95, rest of world £19.95—
Shipping Weight Cap1.75kg outside the UK; email for a quote above it—
Ships toUK, EU, US, worldwideUS, CA, UK
Ships to NoteShips worldwide from Cornwall. Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg; above that Origin asks you to email for a quote.Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Nutty, Caramel & toffee, Berry, CreamyChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Origin Coffee
  • +Roasted and despatched the next working day on orders placed before 23:59, which is the tightest published roast-to-post window of any roaster here.
  • +One or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, so a delivery does not need anybody at home and does not sit in a depot losing freshness.
  • +Ships worldwide from Cornwall - UK, EU, US and beyond - where most roasters on this site ship domestically only.
  • +A certified B Corp roasting since 2004, with seven coffee shops of its own, so the sourcing claims are backed by certification rather than adjectives.
  • +Free UK delivery over £35, and a subscription that ships free on every order regardless of value.
  • −Priced in pounds, so North American buyers pay a converted price plus £14.95 shipping before any import duty.
  • −Import duty and local taxes outside the UK are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin states it does not cover them.
  • −Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg, above which you have to email for a quote rather than simply checking out.
  • −Roasts light in the Nordic-influenced tradition throughout, which is a narrower house style than roasters offering a full light-to-dark range.
  • −Subscription management is through their iOS and Android app, with no web route stated.
Full Origin Coffee review →
Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • +A roast date and a best by date printed on the bag, which is the single most useful thing a roaster can print
  • +A Direct Trade programme published on three named principles, and B Corp since 2018
  • +Six origins named across the range, with washed processing published
  • +Stumptown publishes 90 days unopened freshness and guidance for after opening
  • −Four coffees reviewed
  • −Organic on two of the four blends rather than the whole range
  • −No farm or cooperative is named within the origins
Full Stumptown Coffee Roasters review →

Every specification, side by side

Origin CoffeeStumptown Coffee Roasters
The maker
Brand founded2004—
Based inPorthleven, Cornwall, EnglandPortland, Oregon, United States
Who it suits
Best forUK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fastAnybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it
What sets it apart—A Direct Trade programme with published principles, and both a roasted-on and a best-by date, which almost nothing at this price prints
Specifications
Coffee Shops7—
Coffees Reviewed—4
Despatch SpeedRoasted and despatched the next working day on orders before 23:59—
Flavoured Line—✕
Founded Year2004—
FounderTom Sobey—
Gift Sets Reviewed—0
OriginBrazil, Kenya, Colombia, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South America, Central AmericaCentral America, South America, Latin America, Indonesia, Africa, East Africa
Packaging NoteOne or two 250g bags go in a letterbox-friendly parcel, under Royal Mail's large-letter height limits—
Processing Method—Washed
Roast LevelsLightMedium, Dark
Roast StyleLight, in the Nordic-influenced speciality tradition—
Roaster CityPorthleven, CornwallPortland, Oregon
Roaster CountryUnited KingdomUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUKUS
Shipping Checked At2026-09-07—
Shipping CurrencyGBP—
Shipping Customs NoteImport duty and local taxes are the buyer's responsibility, and Origin says so plainly. It cannot ship lithium batteries to China.—
Shipping DomesticUK under £35: Royal Mail Tracked 48 £2.95, Tracked 24 £3.95. £35 and over: Tracked 48 free, Tracked 24 £1.95. Subscriptions: Tracked 48 free. Over 2kg goes DPD next day, free.—
Shipping Free Threshold£35 within the UK—
Shipping InternationalEurope £12.95, North America £14.95, rest of world £19.95—
Shipping Weight Cap1.75kg outside the UK; email for a quote above it—
Ships toUK, EU, US, worldwideUS, CA, UK
Ships to NoteShips worldwide from Cornwall. Orders outside the UK are capped at 1.75kg; above that Origin asks you to email for a quote.Ships to the US, and single shipments to Canada, Japan and the UK; international subscriptions are not offered.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Nutty, Caramel & toffee, Berry, CreamyChocolate, Citrus, Berry, Creamy, Spice, Malt & bread

Origin Coffee vs Stumptown Coffee Roasters: common questions

Is Origin Coffee or Stumptown Coffee Roasters cheaper?

Origin Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters at Not publicly stated.

Who is Origin Coffee for?

UK and European buyers who want light-roast speciality coffee shipped fast

Who is Stumptown Coffee Roasters for?

Anybody who wants a roast date on the bag and a named trade relationship behind it

Keep comparing