Equator Coffees vs Koa Coffee

The verdict

Equator Coffees and Koa Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.

Who each one suits

Equator Coffees

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Koa Coffee

Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend

What each one costs

PriceNot publicly statedNot publicly stated

Where they differ

Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.

Equator CoffeesKoa Coffee
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesCaptain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendAnybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend
What sets it apart—A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests
B Corp✓—
Coffees Reviewed48
Format—Ground, Whole bean
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaHawaii
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.86170.86 to 248.02
Price per kg43.54 USD170.86 USD
Roast Date Printed—✓
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaCaptain Cook, Hawaii
Ships toUSUS, worldwide
Ships to Note—Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which.
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry

Pros and cons

From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.

Equator Coffees
  • +Names the producer, varieties, altitude and process of every blend component.
  • +B Corp certified, and its decafs are all water processed.
  • +Every coffee in 12 oz, 2 lb and 5 lb bags, whole bean or ground.
  • +Free shipping on orders of $50 or more.
  • −No roast date published on the bag.
  • −Specialty prices: around $54 to $57 a kilo in the 12 oz bag.
  • −Few certified organic or Fair Trade coffees outside its dedicated line.
Full Equator Coffees review →
Koa Coffee
  • +A roast date printed, which almost no roaster on this site does
  • +Eight coffees from a single named origin, Hawaii, across three roast levels
  • +Ground and whole bean with a subscription available
  • −$170.86 to $248.02 a kilo, four times the next most expensive roaster here
  • −One origin only, so there is no range to move across
  • −No certifications are published for the range
Full Koa Coffee review →

Every specification, side by side

Equator CoffeesKoa Coffee
The maker
Based inSan Rafael, California, United StatesCaptain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Who it suits
Best forSomebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blendAnybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend
What sets it apart—A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests
Specifications
B Corp✓—
Coffees Reviewed48
Flavoured LineNoneNone
Format—Ground, Whole bean
Gift Sets Reviewed00
OriginColombia, Indonesia, Kenya, Guatemala, Brazil, Honduras, EthiopiaHawaii
Price per Kg Range43.54 to 45.86170.86 to 248.02
Price per kg43.54 USD170.86 USD
Roast Date Printed—✓
Roast LevelsMedium, Medium-dark, DarkMedium, Medium-dark, Dark
Roaster CitySan Rafael, CaliforniaCaptain Cook, Hawaii
Roaster CountryUnited StatesUnited States
Roaster Country CodeUSUS
Ships toUSUS, worldwide
Ships to Note—Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which.
Subscription Available✓✓
Tasting NotesChocolate, Spice, Earthy & woody, Stone fruit, Berry, NuttyChocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry

Equator Coffees vs Koa Coffee: common questions

Is Equator Coffees or Koa Coffee cheaper?

Equator Coffees starts at Not publicly stated, and Koa Coffee at Not publicly stated.

Who is Equator Coffees for?

Somebody who wants to know exactly which farms and co-ops are in their blend

Who is Koa Coffee for?

Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend

Keep comparing