Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Koa Coffee


Fresh Roasted Coffee and Koa Coffee, compared on every specification their makers publish.
Who each one suits
Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Fresh Roasted Coffee | Koa Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Based in | Central Pennsylvania, United States | Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States |
| Best for | Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices | Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend |
| What sets it apart | — | A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests |
| Coffees Reviewed | 11 | 8 |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Origin | Indonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, Tanzania | Hawaii |
| Price per Kg Range | 24.25 to 35.27 | 170.86 to 248.02 |
| Price per kg | 24.25 USD | 170.86 USD |
| Processing Method | Wet-hulled, Monsooned, Washed | — |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Medium-dark, Dark |
| Roaster City | Central Pennsylvania | Captain Cook, Hawaii |
| Ships to | US | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which. |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, Spice | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Every order roasted after you place it and shipped one to two days later.
- +The roast date is printed on every bag.
- +Large bags bring single origins under $36 a kilo.
- +The same coffees as K-Cup compatible pods and Nespresso Original capsules.
- −Little origin detail on most coffees: region yes, farm and altitude rarely.
- −The roast date is a Julian day number.
- −Few certifications beyond Kosher outside its organic line.
- +A roast date printed, which almost no roaster on this site does
- +Eight coffees from a single named origin, Hawaii, across three roast levels
- +Ground and whole bean with a subscription available
- −$170.86 to $248.02 a kilo, four times the next most expensive roaster here
- −One origin only, so there is no range to move across
- −No certifications are published for the range
Every specification, side by side
| Fresh Roasted Coffee | Koa Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| The maker | ||
| Based in | Central Pennsylvania, United States | Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices | Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend |
| What sets it apart | — | A single-estate Kona grower selling its own crop, which is rarer than the word Kona on a bag suggests |
| Specifications | ||
| Coffees Reviewed | 11 | 8 |
| Flavoured Line | None | None |
| Format | — | Ground, Whole bean |
| Gift Sets Reviewed | 0 | 0 |
| Origin | Indonesia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Honduras, Tanzania | Hawaii |
| Price per Kg Range | 24.25 to 35.27 | 170.86 to 248.02 |
| Price per kg | 24.25 USD | 170.86 USD |
| Processing Method | Wet-hulled, Monsooned, Washed | — |
| Roast Date Printed | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roast Levels | Light, Medium, Medium-dark | Medium, Medium-dark, Dark |
| Roaster City | Central Pennsylvania | Captain Cook, Hawaii |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roaster Country Code | US | US |
| Ships to | US | US, worldwide |
| Ships to Note | — | Ships to many countries, though the roaster states that some products cannot be sent internationally without saying which. |
| Subscription Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Tasting Notes | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Citrus, Creamy, Berry, Spice | Chocolate, Caramel & toffee, Creamy, Citrus, Berry |
Fresh Roasted Coffee vs Koa Coffee: common questions
Is Fresh Roasted Coffee or Koa Coffee cheaper?
Fresh Roasted Coffee starts at Not publicly stated, and Koa Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Fresh Roasted Coffee for?
Somebody who wants single origins roasted to order, dated on the bag, at supermarket-adjacent prices
Who is Koa Coffee for?
Anybody buying Kona who wants to know it is actually Kona rather than a ten percent blend











