Origin Coffee Subscription vs Trade Coffee
Ahead
Origin Coffee Subscription is the better buy on our scoring, 8.4 to Trade Coffee's 7.9. It leads on cost per bag, and per kilo and what actually arrives.
Who each one suits
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo, what actually arrives.
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them
Scores higher on choice & personalisation.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Origin Coffee Subscription | Trade Coffee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 6.5 | 4.7 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.3 | 7.2 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 10.0 | 8.5 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 10.0 | 10.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | $16 | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Origin Coffee Subscription | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $16 | — |
| Best for | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Bag Price Usd Converted | 17.00 | — |
| Bag Size | 250 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | B Corp | — |
| Cost per Bag | — | 21.99 USD |
| Days Roast to Despatch | 1 | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Grind Options | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Money Back Guarantee | — | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | ✓ | — |
| Price per kg | — | 70.94 USD |
| Price Source Currency | GBP | — |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roasted to Order | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roaster Country | United Kingdom | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | UK, EU, US, worldwide | US |
| Ships to Note | — | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Standalone curator |
| Subscription URL | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
| Trial Available | — | ✓ |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +Next-day despatch on daily fresh roasts, which is the tightest published roast-to-post window in this batch.
- +Free delivery on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum to earn it.
- +The bag is sized to fit through a letterbox, so a delivery does not need somebody at home.
- +A certified B Corp, with the sourcing commitments that certification requires, rather than a self-declared claim.
- +Ships to the UK, EU, US and worldwide, which is the widest reach in this batch.
- −Pausing, skipping and cancelling are done through their iOS and Android app, and no web equivalent is stated.
- −Priced in pounds. Our dollar figure is a converted estimate and is deliberately not scored, so the value criterion sits at the midpoint.
- −One roaster only, so there is no discovery of other roasters.
- −The free-delivery threshold is advertised at both £25 and £35 in different places on the site, which needs clarifying at the basket.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- +Cancelling, pausing and rescheduling are all self-service from the dashboard, with no phone call and no email, and a pause keeps your queue intact.
- +Over 450 coffees on the Premium tier from independent roasters, matched by a quiz rather than picked blind from a list.
- +Every bag is roasted to order and shipped by the roaster itself rather than pulled from a warehouse shelf.
- +Grind, frequency, bag count and the next order date can all be changed up to midday the day before an order.
- +The first bag is free on the Discovery Trial, so the range can be tested at the price of the shipping.
- −Shipping is only free if you prepay for three, six or twelve bags, or take the 2lb subscription. Pay-per-shipment plans pay for delivery.
- −At $70.94 a kilo the standard 310g bag is dearer than Atlas Coffee Club's $58.82, and considerably dearer than supermarket specialty.
- −The First Bag Guarantee covers the first match only and is a replacement or a better match, not a refund.
- −United States only. No Canada, no Puerto Rico or other US territories, and no APO/FPO/DPO addresses.
- −Trade publishes a coffee count and not a roaster count, so how many roasters you are actually choosing between is not stated.
Every specification, side by side
| Origin Coffee Subscription | Trade Coffee | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $16 | — |
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag | Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Price Usd Converted | 17.00 | — |
| Bag Size | 250 g | 310 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Certifications | B Corp | — |
| Cost per Bag | — | 21.99 USD |
| Days Roast to Despatch | 1 | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Every 1, 2, 3 or 4 weeks | Yes, changeable at any time |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | Whole beans, ground for filter, or ground for AeroPress | Yes, changeable at any time from the dashboard |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Money Back Guarantee | — | ✕ |
| Notice Required Days | — | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | ✓ | ✓ |
| Price Is Converted | ✓ | — |
| Price per kg | — | 70.94 USD |
| Price Source Currency | GBP | — |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roasted to Order | ✓ | ✓ |
| Roaster Country | United Kingdom | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | — |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | — |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✕ |
| Ships to | UK, EU, US, worldwide | US |
| Ships to Note | — | United States only, all 50 states including Alaska and Hawaii. Not to Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories or APO/FPO/DPO addresses |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Standalone curator |
| Subscription URL | https://www.origincoffee.co.uk/pages/coffee-subscriptions | https://www.drinktrade.com/how-it-works |
| Trial Available | — | ✓ |
Origin Coffee Subscription vs Trade Coffee: common questions
Which is better, Origin Coffee Subscription or Trade Coffee?
Origin Coffee Subscription scores 8.4 against 7.9, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Trade Coffee is still ahead on choice & personalisation.
Is Origin Coffee Subscription or Trade Coffee cheaper?
Origin Coffee Subscription starts at $16, and Trade Coffee at Not publicly stated.
Who is Origin Coffee Subscription for?
British buyers who want next-day despatch and a letterbox-sized bag
Who is Trade Coffee for?
Trying a lot of small American roasters without choosing between them
Keep comparing
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Volcanica Coffee Club
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Atlas Coffee Club
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Intelligentsia Coffee Subscription
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Misto
- Origin Coffee Subscription vs Peet's Coffee Subscription











