Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club

AheadStumptown Coffee Club is the better buy on our scoring, 8.3 to Peet's Coffee Subscription's 7.8. It leads on cancelling, skipping & getting out and choice & personalisation.
Who each one suits
The cheapest coffee per kilo of any subscription here, priced honestly by the pound
Scores higher on cost per bag, and per kilo.
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Scores higher on cancelling, skipping & getting out, choice & personalisation, what actually arrives.
How they score, criterion by criterion
Both are scored the same way against the rest of their category, from what their makers publish. The weight is how much each criterion moves the total. How the score works
| Criterion | Weight in category | Peet's Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancelling, Skipping & Getting Out | 24% | 9.1 | 10.0 |
| Cost Per Bag, and Per Kilo | 22% | 8.4 | 7.8 |
| Choice & Personalisation | 16% | 6.6 | 7.6 |
| Freshness & Roast Dates | 16% | 5.0 | 5.0 |
| What Actually Arrives | 12% | 7.9 | 10.0 |
| Delivery & Straight Answers | 10% | 8.0 | 8.0 |
What each one costs
| Price | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
Where they differ
Every specification the two makers publish differently. Everything they match on is in the full table below.
| Peet's Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | The cheapest coffee per kilo of any subscription here, priced honestly by the pound | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Bag Size | 454 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 19.95 USD | 20.00 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Yes, how much and how often are both chosen at signup | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | grind is chosen at signup | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Pause Subscription | — | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 43.98 USD | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Eight curated series - Small Batch, Dark Roast, Seasonal Essentials, Medium Roast, Signature Blend, Cold Brew, Single Origin and Decaf - or build your own | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | — | ✓ |
| Subscription URL | https://www.peets.com/pages/subscriptions | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Pros and cons
From each full review, written from the same published facts as the scores above.
- +$43.98 a kilo on the Signature Blend Series, which is the cheapest coffee per kilo in this comparison by a wide margin.
- +Priced by the pound on the page, so the per-kilo figure is published rather than derived from an assumed bag size.
- +Free shipping on every subscription, with no bundle or spend threshold.
- +Eight curated series including single origin, cold brew and a dedicated decaf series, or build your own from individual coffees.
- +Reschedule or cancel at any time, and grind, quantity and frequency are all chosen at signup.
- −No roasted-to-order claim is made, unlike Trade, Misto, Intelligentsia and Origin.
- −No specialty-grade claim on the subscriptions page, and no direct trade or certification statement.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery beyond Peet's own range.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 30% new-subscriber discount makes the first orders much cheaper than the ongoing price, which is the number to plan around.
- +Seven delivery intervals from every week to every eight weeks, which is by some distance the widest choice in this category.
- +Free shipping on every subscription order, with no bundle or minimum spend to earn it.
- +$58.82 a kilo on the 12oz bag, cheaper than Trade and level with Atlas.
- +Skip, change, pause and cancel are all offered at any time and stated on the sales page rather than buried in a help centre.
- +Rotating Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle options, or any blend or single origin kept on repeat, plus a coffee quiz for anyone unsure.
- −One roaster, so there is no discovery of anyone else's coffee.
- −No roast-to-despatch figure is published, only that coffee ships directly from the roastery.
- −The advertised prices are discounted against a struck-through list price, so check what the sixth delivery costs.
- −No money-back guarantee is stated.
- −The 5lb option is priced separately and not shown alongside the standard bag, so the bulk saving needs working out at the basket.
Every specification, side by side
| Peet's Coffee Subscription | Stumptown Coffee Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | ||
| Best for | The cheapest coffee per kilo of any subscription here, priced honestly by the pound | The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks |
| Specifications | ||
| Bag Size | 454 g | 340 g |
| Cancel Online | ✓ | ✓ |
| Cost per Bag | 19.95 USD | 20.00 USD |
| Decaf in the range | ✓ | — |
| First Box Discount | ✓ | ✓ |
| Frequency Options | Yes, how much and how often are both chosen at signup | Every 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 8 weeks |
| Gift Option | ✓ | ✓ |
| Grind Options | grind is chosen at signup | whole bean or pre-ground |
| Min Commitment Deliveries | 1 | 1 |
| Pause Subscription | — | ✓ |
| Price per kg | 43.98 USD | 58.82 USD |
| Pricing Published Upfront | ✓ | ✓ |
| Quiz or Matching | — | ✓ |
| Roast Choice | Eight curated series - Small Batch, Dark Roast, Seasonal Essentials, Medium Roast, Signature Blend, Cold Brew, Single Origin and Decaf - or build your own | Roaster's Pick and Blend Shuffle rotating options, or any blend or single origin on repeat |
| Roasted to Order | — | Shipped directly from the roastery for peak freshness |
| Roaster Country | United States | United States |
| Roasters | 1 | 1 |
| Roasters Named | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shipping Included | ✓ | ✓ |
| Single Origin Available | ✓ | ✓ |
| Skip Delivery | ✓ | ✓ |
| Specialty Grade | — | ✓ |
| Subscription Type | Roaster's own | Roaster's own |
| Subscription URL | https://www.peets.com/pages/subscriptions | https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/pages/subscribe |
Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Stumptown Coffee Club: common questions
Which is better, Peet's Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club?
Stumptown Coffee Club scores 8.3 against 7.8, both computed from published specifications rather than opinion. Peet's Coffee Subscription is still ahead on cost per bag, and per kilo.
Is Peet's Coffee Subscription or Stumptown Coffee Club cheaper?
Peet's Coffee Subscription starts at Not publicly stated, and Stumptown Coffee Club at Not publicly stated.
Who is Peet's Coffee Subscription for?
The cheapest coffee per kilo of any subscription here, priced honestly by the pound
Who is Stumptown Coffee Club for?
The widest choice of delivery intervals of any subscription here, from weekly to every eight weeks
Keep comparing
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Trade Coffee
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Bean Box Coffee Subscription
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Blue Bottle Coffee Subscription
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Intelligentsia Coffee Subscription
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Atlas Coffee Club
- Peet's Coffee Subscription vs Volcanica Coffee Club











